Book Review: Run the World

This summer has been a bit different than I had expected, since I should have been weight bearing before Memorial Day (which was 5 weeks ago if you’re counting). So I’ve been spending a ton of time on my couch, laying by the pool, and sitting on my balcony, which can get fairly boring. So when I was approached to read and review a new running book, I immediately said yes. I was even more excited when the author, Becky Wade (who I feel like I know after reading her incredible journey) ended up in an interesting and public battle with the USATF prior to the Olympic Trials starting over the weekend, and ecstatic when at the last minute she was able to compete. 

Perfect poolside reading


In the first few pages, I was hooked. Becky details her experiences traveling the world culture of running as her project for the Watson Fellowship after graduating from Rice University. She got to take a break, in theory, from her normal training, and instead follow the cultural cues she encountered as she embedded herself into local running communities around the world. 
As someone who loves to do racecations, I was insanely jealous of every experience and encounter she had. She explored how elite runners prepare themselves for Olympic glory, even having a run in with Usain Bolt during her time London round the 2012 Olympics. She experienced the intense yet laid back approach to running in  Ethiopia. She traded tracks for trails in Switzerland, and followed the footsteps of some of the forefathers of the running movement in New Zealand. 
While reading Run the World left me itching to run again, the rituals and tips she learned and shared give me a lot of new ways to think about my own running post-injury. Learning to take time to enjoy each step, each mile, each view rather than checking splits on a watch, and how critical recovery is even if it’s unconventional, is something I’ve always struggled with. I plan to check back in with Becky’s learnings as I begin my own recovery later this summer. I’m also adding several of her runs to my vacation bucket list. The idea of running through shaded woods in Finland, or along the coast of Lake Zurich sounds like the perfect way to sightsee. 
If you’re a runner, a world traveler, or just have a case of wanderlust, Becky’s book is the perfect summer reading. Filled with inspiration, motivation, and some tasty looking recipes, you won’t regret spending a few hours in the sun with her journey. Run the World will be released today, July 5th, 2016 and is available on Amazon for $10.99. 
Disclaimer: I was provided a pre-release copy of Run the World by the publisher, HarperCollins. I was not compensated in any additional way, nor am I an Amazon Affiliate so will not profit from any purchase using the links above. All opinions are my own. 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Run the World

  1. Thanks for sharing this book. I’m a total nerd and enjoy reading all.things.running. 🙂 I’ll add this to my list!! And yes–I have a terrible case of wanderlust!

Share your thoughts!

