Getting real and making changes

I am overweight. 

  
There. I said it. It’s out in the world. 
I’ve struggled with my weight since I was a kid. Running, at times, has made managing it easier. But marathon training last fall, combined with a disappointing performance in that race, let to a downward spiral. I’ve stopped listening to my healthy inner voice and candy, chips, bread, and lots of wine, have become commonplace in my diet. 
I’m working out differently, adding muscle through strength training, and trying not to focus on becoming breathless in every workout. I’m focused on walking as much as possible, until told to cut it down a few weeks ago due to an injury. Focusing on pairing those workouts with healthy foods has gotten some increased attention, but I know I have an all or nothing mentality. So if I get tired of not having any treats, I go totally off the wagon. 
So, I decided to change my way of thinking, again. I joined Weight Watchers, sticking to the online program, and am refocusing on the value of the foods I eat, and knowing that even if I’m not proud of some decisions, logging them, and knowing I can offset it by being active, is already helping. 
My victory this week: last night I really wanted cherry Twizzlers as I left work. I bought a bag, came home and ate it while watching tv, and contemplated pretending I hadn’t eaten it. If you don’t log it, it didn’t happen, right? Wrong. I know that’s part of why I’m struggling with losing the 20+ pounds I need to lose. So I logged it. 30 points. That’s a entire day’s worth of points. I’m currently over my weekly extra points by 37. I’m not happy about it, but I know what it is, and can see exactly why the scale may not go down this week. 
I’m learning. I’m seeing the “why”. I will adjust. I want to be healthier, I want to feel better, and that’s why I will make this work. 
Are you part of Weight Watchers? I’d love to connect on the app… My Username is: cldem80

What’s your go to stress food?

What tips do you have for anyone trying to make changes?

16 thoughts on “Getting real and making changes

  1. I really need to get better about being conscious of what I eat and staying away from the crap (my weakness is definitely salty stuff and carbs…mmmmm bread and potato chips!). I’ve never tried a formal diet like Weight Watchers or anything, but have been considering it, I just hating seeing a number on the scale (I haven’t weighed myself in YEARS), I really prefer to go by how I feel and how my clothes fit so I’m not sure a program like weight watchers is right for me, but after getting back from Italy I’m hoping to really do a better job of eating clean-er and staying away from the unnecessary crap!

    Do you still have an accountability group?? I feel like I need to join one for both eating and strength training!

    • Thing I like about WW (and most of the plans I’ve followed in recent years) is the focus on learning trade offs, rather than denying yourself anything like a traditional diet. It’s more about learning that it’s fine to eat a bag of gummy bears, but that is equal to an entire days worth of actual food.

      I technically have an ongoing group, but it hasn’t been super active 🙂 If you would like in, I will definitely step it back up again 🙂

  2. When it comes to any change, I think acceptance/honesty with yourself is the first step. It sounds like you have been doing all the right things to get back to the weight that makes you comfortable/healthy/happy. I’m here to support you in any way that’s helpful ❤

  3. I’ll be honest. I opened to read your post because I saw the Ben & Jerry ice cream. THAT is my weakness!!! The biggest tip I offer is this: see your food as fuel. Think of your body as the most precious vehicle on the planet and fuel it accordingly. Your mindset has to change first. You’re not denying yourself by avoiding “junk” foods, rather you’re encouraging your best version of YOU. But, always have a cheat day in moderation! 😉 cause let’s face it, life without ice cream would be a sad thing.

    • Thanks for the kind words. I’ve improved over the years but struggle when work gets crazy. It’s a journey! And definitely no way can I give up the yummy stuff for good!

  4. I’ve done WW for years and rejoined again in January. It’s the only program that works for me. I’ll definitely add you on the app! And FWIW, I think you are beautiful in and out and would hardly consider you to be overweight! But I TOTALLY hear you about making good decisions.

  5. I totally get it. I have been gaining and losing 10 labs for the last two years and gained an extra 10 at the end of 2016 😕 But if there is bad food in the house I can’t leave it alone. I will eat healthy meals and then sabotage with snacking. Cake for breakfast? Salad for dinner. That balances out, right? And no energy to work out. I know that working out will give me energy… What a vicious cycle.
    Thank you, as always for a real post!

Share your thoughts!

