New age group… New year… New goals

It’s been a while since I’ve a) posted my goals and b) posted consistently. 

I enter November a year older, and *gasp* in a new age group. *Shakes head in disbelief* Given my paces and that I tend to run, this means basically nothing, other than that I’m getting older. 

This month, I officially embark on training for the Walt Disney World Half Marathon, part of WDW Marathon Weekend, sponsored by Cigna. I contemplated upgrading to the marathon after a disappointing race a few weeks ago here in Chicago, and after some pep talks and a tough to resist offer from Pam over at We Run Disney. I was very tempted to upgrade and get revenge on Chicago. 

  
And then I remembered: I live in Chicago. If I didn’t love my long mileage all summer, the cold, windy winter was surely not going to make me love them. So I’m sticking to my half marathon plan, but I’m going for a big PR. 

So, to get there, I need some goals:

  1. #GhoststoBallDropRunStreak I decided to keep myself in check and active outside of training as it starts to get cold, I’m doing my own Holiday RunStreak. From Halloween to New Year’s Day I’ll run at least 1 mile. On my training days, I’ll follow my training schedule. On off days, I’ll run how I feel, but will do an all out speed test every 2 weeks on the treadmill. 
  2. Just say no to candy. I’m not saying I won’t eat any treats, and I’m certainly not giving up wine. But candy is a huge weakness for me. It’s like a gateway drug. A few pieces of candy and suddenly I find myself eating a massive baguette with balsamic vinegar for dinner. 
  3. Be a Social Runner. Attend and run at least 2 group runs. I need to get used to running with other people again so that I can leverage group runs to push my speed. I know my limits to push myself personally, and if I’m really going to improve my speed, I need help from others. 
  4. Go to at least 1 class a week. I joined Equinox near my office prior to the marathon, and have yet to actually use it. I joined purposefully because they have killer classes, so I need to go. This month brings several work trips, so while I’d like to go to more, I don’t think it is possible. 
  5. Be grateful. I’m going to be tracking what I’m grateful for every day this month. It helps to keep me upbeat and focused on the big picture, even when the details of my everyday get overwhelming. 

I’m ready to make this an incredible year. I’m ready go outside my comfort zone to reach my goals. I’m ready to make running fun again. And, I’m ready to get back to posting at least once a week. Next up: a giveaway!!!!

What are your goals this month?

Do you go to classes at the gym or studio? What’s your fave?

Want to join my #GhoststoBallDropRunStreak ?! 

11 thoughts on “New age group… New year… New goals

  1. These are some great goals especially adding in classes to give a variety. Number 2 often becomes number 1 for me especially when it’s chocolate.

    Thank you for sharing.

    Happy New Year!

  2. Love these goals! I have some goals for myself post-marathon…mostly vague ones about doing more weight training and working on muscle definition. A friend and I agreed to find a class at our local gym to do each week together.

  3. I know you’re more of a lone runner, but I think if you find the right run club you may really enjoy it! I run with two different groups and both are totally different but a lot of fun! Plus, like you said, it really does help you to push the pace out of your usual comfort zone a bit to help you get faster!

    Can’t wait to see you in January! : )

    • You are one of the reasons I’m forcing myself to try the group run. I know you love your run groups, and that it was also a great way for you to get to know people when you moved. You inspired me 😊

      And I can’t wait either! 10 weeks!!!

  4. Happy birthday!

    I don’t go to classes at a gym or studio because the class times aren’t conducive to my schedule, but I do go to the gym.

    I recently got a 5K PR, but on the fence about doing a half in late Nov to see if I can go for a new half PR. If the weather’s good and I feel good, I may do a half. But it’s not a priority at this point.

Share your thoughts!

