Make Your Own Happy

The last few weeks have been some of the most challenging in my career. Nothing seems to be going my way. People have suggested I start buying lottery tickets because all of the things that have happened recently are so abnormal, I’m lucky (except that they’re all terrible). 

I’ve found myself in a funk. Not being my usual happy, positive self was becoming the norm. I was exhausted, anxious, and generally unhappy. 

Additionally, my legs have been a mess since RnRDC, and I’ve honestly been fearful of running. Afraid it will be hard, afraid it will hurt. Afraid of, well, afraid of running. So I hadn’t been getting my usual morning runs and workouts in, which I know has a huge impact on my ability to handle what life throws at me. 

Yesterday morning, even thgh I hit snooze a few too many times, I reminded myself that doing even 2 miles was better than no miles. So I headed down, found a fun playlist on RockMyRun, and hit the treadmill. After a winter of training almost exclusively on the TM, I’m bored on it easily, so I did 2 miles of progression, and felt great. 

I danced around my apartment while getting ready for work, then danced in the cab to the office, and bebopped at my desk for most of the day (in between meetings, of course). For thefirst time in a couple of weeks, I can honestly say, I was happy all day. Things didn’t got perfectly, but it was my attitude that drove it. 

So what did I learn: Make Your Own Happy. It’s all in your head, your heart, your soul! 

 

How do you make your own happy?

What’s something you’re grateful for today?

Ever been afraid to run?  

7 thoughts on “Make Your Own Happy

  1. I was a crabby mess the past week or so after RnRDC. I knew I needed to give my legs a rest after the marathon but it was hard. Work has been sucky and I’ve just been in a funk. I’m glad I’m not the only one who needs running to feel normal!! Glad you got out of your funk – hope you’re doing something fun this weekend!!

  2. I can honestly say that when I don’t hit my scheduled workouts or runs I tend to get stressed out a lot easier than I usually do. This week I’ve had to cut back mileage in preparation for my race tomorrow and it’s been hard!

    I think during the winter the weather here made me a lot more afraid of runs. I don’t do a lot of TM work, and sometimes the cold was so painful to run long distance in.

  3. Oh friend 😦 I’m sorry you’ve had a rough few weeks. Glad you found your happy groove yesterday. I had a really tough time going back to running after Richmond. I simply hated it. I also was in a major funk at work and in life during that time. Bad combo! Glad you’re running again – it’s a great stress reliever as you know. The weekend is in view! 🙂

Share your thoughts!

