Perspective

Perspective is a funny thing, isn’t it?

As I ran errands in Chicago yesterday, I was reminded how just a small change in direction or viewpoint changes not just your view, but the world’s impact on you. In this situation, I was being pelted with a wintry mix with more than 20 mph winds, but with a small change in direction, light snowflakes just fell from the sky.

I went to bed on Saturday night having psyched myself up to run in the snow. When I got up, it was a little too warm to snow (around 35), and the wind was whipping around like crazy. I ran 14 miles in what turned into more than 5 inches of snow when training for my first marathon, but the idea of running 7 miles in cold, and super windy rain was more than my mind could handle.

On the other hand, I’d never run more than 5 or 6 miles on the treadmill. I get bored, even watching TV or movies. There’s just something so monotonous about it, it makes my mind start to freak out. But, I put on some new gear, brought my iPad to catch up on the last 2 weeks of The Biggest Loser (which I am only allowed to watch when I’m working out) and headed down. As I started to run, I could see the trees outside going nuts from the wind and I became even more focused on just getting in each step.

I happily chugged along, sticking to my planned pace for the first 5 miles, then speeding up for the last 2 because I was feeling so good. When I finished, I had 2 immediate thoughts:

1) I could have kept going, and

2) I did it! 7 Mile TM Run

I happily knew that if I have to, I can slog through more long runs on the ‘mill this training cycle. Thankfully, we aren’t looking at the snow the East Coast is getting pounded with this week, but it’s Chicago, at some point we’ll be well below zero or being pounded with snow again. My biggest concern: The Biggest Loser ends this week. What will I watch next?!

Are you a distance treadmill fan?

What’s your favorite workout show or movie?

What’s the snowfall total so far if you’re on the East Coast?

12 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. I thankfully don’t mind running on the treadmill. I think it’s because it forces me to keep my pace. But I also tend to get lost in all the people watching which always makes things more enjoyable.

  2. I can go for miles (and miles and miles) on the treadmill. It doesn’t really bother me at all and I usually daydream, listen to music or watch tv. That time is mine and I enjoy it. 🙂 Plus, it keeps me at home so I can parent or chat with the kids, if they need me (they usually don’t).

    I remember last winter when you got caught out in the snow in Philly. You were bad ass then and you still are now.

    • PS- I don’t know what I’m going to do when the Biggest Loser ends!!! Love that show. Who are you rooting for?

    • YES! I too can go for days on the treadmill. I don’t know why people hate it so much! You can watch shows, you don’t have to worry about cars (or animals, or hils). it’s GREAT!
      Emma @ bemomstrong

      • Amen! It’s nice to be able to daydream and not worry that a car is going to come out of no where. I like the non-thinking thinking that goes on there. 😉

  3. I have turned into a winter wimp. Each year I get worse, so I have done the treadmill. It is boring, but I too watch tv shows etc. to help. I did 7 m. on Saturday, and watched a few shows! Good job on your run!

Share your thoughts!

