Small Changes lead to Big Results

Earlier this week I posted my “Then” and “Now” picture on Instagram as part of #TransformationTuesday. My main point in posting it is that I’ve been working hard for 23 weeks to lose 15 pounds. That seems like a lot, and a little if you think about how long that is, but it is 10% of my body weight, and I am ecstatic about it taking that long.

 

Why? Because I had weeks where I would focus on just one thing because life got crazy. It was lots of small steps, and small improvements that got me this far, and doing the same will keep me going in the same direction. Making progress isn’t about suddenly changing your entire life, it’s about being smart, making good decisions, and letting small changes add up to big things over time.

 

Think about it, when you started running, was your first run a marathon? I highly doubt it. You started with a mile, or a minute, or a block. Over time, you went further, you went faster, and who knows how many miles you’ve logged today.

 

Here are 5 small things you can do this week to start making healthy changes to your life:

Plan 1 meal for each week day this weekend. If you’re not normally a meal planner or meal prepper, making an entire weekly menu and chopping and cooking for hours each weekend seems unimaginable. Write out one meal each day, and make sure you have what you need on hand. This way you’ve got at least 1 healthy meal planned each day, and the ingredients to cook it.

Do 10 minutes of something active each morning. Whether you do 10 minutes of squats, pushups, lunges and crunches, run or walk for 10 minutes, or do 10 minutes of playing with your kids before jumping in the shower, just 10 minutes. It’s not enough time to steal from your sleep, and, depending on what you choose, you can do it in your PJs.

Clean out the junk. Think of this as either junk food or just junk. Cleansing clutter or crappy food out of your life will get you started toward a happier and healthier lifestyle.

Laugh or dance… or both. Laughter is good for your health. Dancing is fun, and often results in laughter. Make sure you do a little of one or the other, and hopefully both. Each day in my Healthy, Happy New Year Group, I have a Party Song to kick off a little 2 minutes dance party. It’s hard not to smile and feel better after dancing.

Drink water, and lots of it. Aim to drink half your body weight in ounces of water each day. If you’re not normally drinking much water, just aim to double what you normally drink. Yes, you will visit the bathroom a little more of used to it, and you’ll feel amazing.

 

What small change will you do this week?

What’s a small change tip you do each week?

When was the last time you had a 2 minute dance party? Here’s a song to get you going:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5mV3BECsuKw

6 thoughts on “Small Changes lead to Big Results

  1. Yes! I am cleaning out the junk (aka: all sugary sweets) and remembering to drink a lot of water (even more than usual). I agree with Mer (above) that it’s time to clean out the “junk of life”…sometimes there is a lot of stress and we need to remember to dance and laugh! 🙂

  2. Its amazing how the little things you do can add up to big results. Last summer I successfully gave up drinking soda, which in turn resulted in drinking a lot more water. Its amazing how much better I feel, and how much more energy I tend to have (in combination with also starting to drink Shakeology last summer). The little things definitely add up!

  3. I’ve been working hard this week on cleaning out the junk (food) and now I’m ready to clean out the junk, junk. We have so much excess in our lives and we just don’t need all the STUFF. What’s crazy is that some of it is as simple as walking it from inside the house to the trash outside. So yes, that’s my goal!

    • Awesome goal, Meredith!!! I’ve been working on purging for the last couple of weeks and I have more to go, but I’ve also been so good at not buying stuff unless I literally need it, or I’ve been searching for it for a while.

Share your thoughts!

