Healthy Recipe: Peanut Curried Chicken, Squash & Apple Soup

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. I could eat soup every day during the fall and winter. I’ve come close some years, I’m pretty sure of it!

I also have owned an immersion blender for a couple of years, thanks to my dad and step-mom fully supporting my obsession with cooking (watch for some new fun things with this year’s present, which I accidentally opened because I thought I’d ordered something for someone else). It took me until this winter to realize the beauty of an immersion blender. It is the 2nd best tool in my kitchen (nothing beats the Vitamix, only I usually am making too much soup to use the soup function on it). I love a good THICK soup, so I immersion blend almost everything into a deliciously thick, rich soup.

I had a bunch of apples left from Thanksgiving, and decided to make soup with them. Isn’t that what everyone thinks to do with beat up apples? Anyway, like usual, I found a great recipe, then promptly changed it to something I like better. I’m sure the original soup is delicious, don’t get me wrong.

Peanut Curried Chicken, Squash & Apple Soup
Serves 8-10, nutrition based on 9 servings
Calories: 150 kCal
Carbs: 28g
Dietary Fiber: 5g
Fat: 1g
Protein: 10g

Ingredients
2 medium carrots, peeled and chopped
5 cups diced butternut squash
5 cups apple, diced, with peel on (if you don’t have a blender or immersion blender, peel them)
6 cups vegetable broth
1 small yellow onion, chopped
10 oz chicken breast, cut into small cubes
2/3 cup PB2 or other powdered peanut butter
4 tsp curry powder
3 tsp cinnamon
5 tsp sea salt
1 tsp cumin
Pepper, to taste

Directions
1) Add all ingredients except for the spices to a crock pot or large stew pot.

2) Cook for 3 hours on medium heat in a crock pot, or 45 minutes to an hour over medium heat in a stew pot. Cook until chicken thoroughly cooked, and squash is tender.

3) Use immersion blender or blend in small batches until thick and smooth. Add spices and mix thoroughly. Serve and enjoy or portion out and let cool before freezing or putting in the refrigerator.

*Note: If not using a blender or any kind, cut veggies and chicken smaller. It will still be delicious, and you can use a potato masher to thicken some, it just won’t be smooth. Peanut Curried Chicken, Squash & AppleSoup

Share your thoughts!

