3 Day Refresh Experience: Day 1

I am excited to start the 3 Day Refresh after overdoing it in a number of ways over the Thanksgiving holiday week.

For those of you who don’t know what it is, it’s basically a 3 day cleanse with a focus on fiber, plant based proteins, and fresh foods paired with good fats. It’s a great way to get back to a healthy lifestyle after some overindulgence (think holidays, vacations, birthdays or weddings) or a way to lose some bloating and water weight before an important event (parties, weddings, also vacation).

Because it allows you to eat real food, I was willing to give it a try. I’ve tried one other “cleanse” in the past, and it required 2 days of basically just water. I lasted 16 hours. I just couldn’t mentally do it, and physically I felt terrible.

This time around I’m excited to focus on healthy fruits & veggies, but I’m also being realistic. I don’t want to hate the next 72 hours of my life, or then want to eat everything in the house after those 72 hours. I’m allowing myself to use some unsweetened almond or coconut milk in my smoothies. I’m also allowing myself 1 small cup of coffee with a little unsweetened organic soy or coconut creamer with stevia each day. Otherwise, I’m sticking to the plan perfectly, and have planned out workouts that shouldn’t kill my energy each of the 3 days too.

Day 1: Morning

So far the day has been pretty normal. Started my day with a mug hot lemon water. About 30 minutes later, but within an hour of waking up, had my usual Shakeology shake, but without the added spinach, and only 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk with 1/2 cup water instead of all almond milk.

An hour later I had a small cup of coffee with 1.5 tbsp of unsweetened organic soy creamer and a little stevia. Another hour later I enjoyed a hot mug of cherry berry tea with stevia.

I’m excited to add so much tea back into my life. I have a ton of it, and actually love it. It’s a great way to get a ton of water, without just drinking plain water.

Day 1: Mid-Day

I hadn’t been hungry all morning with so much liquid, but finally got hungry around 11. I mixed up my first Fiber Sweep and drank it. I used a little extra water, which I think was a bad idea. The flavor was actually good (only mine was watered down), but chugging a strangely textured drink was not easy. The texture was not good, I won’t lie. I used a straw for the end of it, to just get it down. But it’s done!

I forced myself to drink a bottle of sparkly water before making my Vanilla Fresh shake. I was really excited about this one. Since I don’t do dairy, I only use the vegan chocolate and vegan tropical strawberry Shakeology flavors. I love them, but long for vanilla because I can do so many things with it! The vanilla fresh didn’t disappoint!

I blended it with half a banana, a splash of organic soy creamer (I just need the extra creaminess with the water) a cup of water, a cup of ice, 2 tsp of cinnamon and a splash of pure vanilla extract. It is exactly what I needed. So yummy and very filling.

A few hours later, I decided to have my veggie and good fat, because I was starting to get hungry, although I hadn’t been after the Vanilla Fresh shake at noontime. I quartered some Brussels sprouts and cooked them until they were caramelized with just a short spray of Olive Oil PAM. I ate them with hummus and it was perfect. So good!
IMG_6919.JPG

Day 1: Late Afternoon

I wasn’t sure I’d get hungry again before dinner, but decided not to go to the grocery store on an “empty” stomach. I sliced up a small red pepper and ate it with more hummus. Drank a bottle of water and headed off to pick up everything I needed for the week.

Any plan where eating hummus and avocado is important, I am on board with it. Seriously, this might be the best thing ever.

I also had a mug of chamomile tea around 4 pm when I was starting to get a little hungry. Again, I realized I was really more dehydrated than hungry. Great learning.

IMG_6922.JPG
Day 1: Dinner & Evening
I like to eat early most days, so that my body has time to digest before I go to bed. So I decided to sauté up my veggies for dinner from the 3-Day Refresh dinner recipe list. I made 2 small changes to it, but not critical to the plan.

IMG_6920.JPG
3 Day Refresh Veggie Stir Fry
1/2 cup sliced carrots
1/2 cup diced red pepper
1/2 cup diced sugar snap peas
1/2 tsp coconut oil (could use olive oil)
1 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp minced ginger
2 shakes Bicentennial Spice Mix (mix of pepper, tumeric, orange zest, and coriander)

I finished off my last 3 glasses of water before I headed to bed, and was just starting to feel a little hungry again. Basically the perfect situation, from my perspective.

Overall Thoughts on Day 1

I was surprised how easy it was. Granted, I made some adjustments so that I wasn’t miserable, and realized I may not have needed them so I will adjust back a bit for Day 2.

And, when I weighed in this morning, I was already down 1.6 pounds.

Have you ever done a cleanse? Which one?
What would you need to be able to make it through a low calorie cleanse?
What is your go-to tip for getting back to normal after overdoing it?

One thought on “3 Day Refresh Experience: Day 1

Share your thoughts!

