Healthy Recipe: Pumpkin Chai Oat Muffins

I love fall. It reminds me of high school football games, apple picking at North Star Orchards, the french fries with spray vinegar at Jay and Livermore Falls, the best birthday parties any kid could ask for, and getting to choose my favorite Tootsie Pops from my Nampie’s stash after school.

As I’ve grown up, my tastes have changed a bit, although I could still go for some apples from North Star, and some of those fries. I love me pumpkin everything, like every other woman in America, but especially when I find a way to make my favorites into healthier versions. I searched for the right pumpkin muffin recipe, and actually made a great protein one last winter, but wanted something with a bit more healthy carbs. So I made my own again, and used up some protein powder I had, that I don’t love in shakes, but thought would be perfect for baking.
Pumpkin Chai Oat Muffins
Pumpkin Chai Oat Muffins
Makes 12 muffins
Calories: 120 kCal
Fat: 1g
Carbs: 21g
Dietary Fiber: 4g
Protein: 7g

Ingredients
2 cups rolled oats (not quick oats)
2 servings (2.8 oz) Vega Team Vanilla Chai Protein Powder
1 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
1 ripe banana, mashed
1.5 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1.5 cup pure pumpkin
2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1/4 cup pure maple syrup

Directions
1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees, and coat muffin tins with misted oil (I used coconut oil). Grind rolled oats into a coarse flour in a food processor or blender.

2) In a large mixing bowl, combine all ingredients, and mix until everything is wet.

3) Portion out into muffin tins. Each tin should be about 3/4 full. Put into oven and cook for 20 minutes or until browned on top.

Enjoy!

Share your thoughts!

