Why I don’t plan to ever run Boston as a charity runner

Today everyone who qualified with less than 5 minutes between their time and qualifying minimum get to apply to run Boston in 2015. I cannot even fathom the amazingness of the people who earned the right to do that over the last couple of weeks. The thrill of submitting that entry, and the even bigger thrill when you get your accepted email like Pam and Brian did yesterday.

Running Boston is a dream of many runners. The idea of running a race with such history, such passion, and such heartache is enough to so many runners all but give up their lives to get their times down enough to qualify. For some, it comes easier than others, for many it takes years of training, injuries, and summers of early morning runs or winters of brutal cold and snow.

Boston, like many other big marathons, have spots reserved for charity runners. These runners have to raise many thousands of dollars in order to run, but in most cases, do not require a qualifying time to get a spot.

I love running for charity. I think it is one of the best things you can do if you’re already running a race. Why not help an organization that you believe in? I’m already planning to run at least one race for Girls on the Run next year as a SoleMate, and have raised a few thousand dollars for different cancer charities (including the American Cancer Society, the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, and St. Jude). Yesterday I ran for the AIDS Foundation of Chicago with work so my donation was doubled, as well as a large corporate donation as one of the lead sponsors.

The Boston Marathon is the one race that I don’t ever see myself running for charity. Part of the magic of Boston is knowing that the runners have done something that so many have not or could not. They’ve trained hard to get those times, and then train hard to ensure their legs can handle the brutal hills. If I ever get the chance to run Boston, I want to earn it. I want to cry as I cross the finish line when I BQ (because I will cry, let’s be honest here) knowing I just did something spectacular. And if I don’t ever do that, I want my friends who have achieved it to feel like their achievement is just that.

2 thoughts on “Why I don’t plan to ever run Boston as a charity runner

  1. Cyanne, I love this post. I had made up my mind that I would only run if I qualified and the magic did happen and I did cry when I crossed the finish line in March when I conquered that elusive time goal. It is a magical race and I feel so lucky that I will be at the starting line next year.

Share your thoughts!

