Healthy Recipe: Summer Chicken & Veggie Couscous Salad

While I’m prepping to kickstart my refocus on health I knew I needed to make myself a healthy, and delicious lunch. I had a fridge full of fresh veggies, and chicken breast that I had prepped on Monday for lunch all week (which I ended up traveling for much of so it wasn’t used), and some yummy cherries. I looked around for a bit, and immediately knew what I wanted to make: the perfect summer salad.

20140531-122732-44852870.jpg
Summer Chicken and Veggie Couscous Salad
Makes 1 large serving or 2 smaller servings
Calories: 585 kCal
Fat: 19g
Carbs: 67g
Fiber: 16g
Protein: 44g

Ingredients
3 oz grilled or roasted chicken breast, cooked
1/4 cup whole wheat couscous cooked
I packet True Lime
1/2 avocado diced
10 cherries, pitted and diced
25g broccoli, bite sized pieces
60g cauliflower, bite sized pieces
40g asparagus, cut in 1 inch pieces
40g orange pepper, diced
35g spinach
3 tbsp mango salsa
1.5 tbsp pecorino
1 tbsp Mrs. Dash Onion & Herb
PAM Olive oil spray
1/2 cup vegetable broth

Directions
1) Heat oven to 400 degrees. Spray baking sheet with PAM. Add vegetables to baking sheet, sprinkle with Mrs. Dash and put in the oven for 10-15 minutes or until browned.

2) Heat vegetable broth with True Lime until boiling in small pot. When boiling, add couscous, turn off heat, and cover with pot.

3) Dice chicken and add to fluffed couscous with roasted veggies, add salt and mix well.

4) Combine avocado and cherries in a bowl. Serve couscous mixture over spinach. Top with salsa, avocado & cherry mixture, then sprinkle with pecorino.

One thought on “Healthy Recipe: Summer Chicken & Veggie Couscous Salad

Share your thoughts!

