Moving on

Almost 2 years ago I was approached about taking a big risk, personally and professionally. It meant leaving the life I’d built for a few months, and being open to not knowing what the future held for me. I didn’t know it at the time, but that would be a turning point.

I look back, still with a few tears, but mostly smiles, and realize what all of the craziness meant. Each piece of my life since then has been provided for me to heal, grow, and figure myself out.

My time in Birmingham was there to get me through what would have been even more difficult if I’d have still been in Hartford. I got to meet some of the most wonderful people, whom I’m blessed to count as friends and colleagues. I really learned to love to run, and learned that if I focus, I can do great things.

Philadelphia has been like a cleansing of my soul. I learned who I am, who I can be, and more importantly, who I aim to be moving forward. Running became my outlet. I was pushed to do new things professionally, and got re grounded on the things that I cherish in life. It also brought me to Karen who is the best running partner and marathon buddy anyone could ever ask for, Meredith from ScootaDoot who is even more amazing in real life than she is on the interwebs, the amazing team at Philadelphia Runner who became more than just a place to buy running stuff, a kick a$$ workout crew at Unite Fitness, a healthy friendship with Emily from Be Well Philly, a memorable New Year’s with Maureen, the wonderful team at Whole Foods Callowhill, which was my second home.

As much as I’ve loved my time in Philly, I’ve realized exactly why this next stage of life was brought to me now, it’s time to move on and really start a new life. Chicago is my next step. It’s where I’m taking on a huge new role professionally that will make me smile and test my strength. It is my opportunity to put down roots, make new friends, find new passions, and build a life.

I am ready. Today, I leave Philadelphia, and while I’ll be back for the movers to finish packing me up, I am saying goodbye and starting fresh. When I land in Chicago, I’m ready to kick off the next chapter, and do it with fervor and passion (and a lot of beach time this summer).

20140517-110924.jpg

19 thoughts on “Moving on

    • Unfortunately, no, I don’t give out details about what I do. But, broadly, I have multi-state responsibility and am the highest level person in my office.

  1. So excited to hear all about your new adventures! Like you have said previously, our Napa trip is perfectly timed. Keep your head up as you adjust to life in Chicago…moving is never easy but I know you can handle it and you will rock your new job! xx

  2. I’m sorry that I’m only reading this now but maybe it’s a good thing because you missed out on me running after you shouting WAIT, WAITTTTTTT!

    I think that this only solidifies the fact that I need to get my ass out to Chicago.

  3. Congrats on your new position and enjoy Chicago. People seem to be quite happy living there and we will visit to run the Chicago Marathon!

Share your thoughts!

