So… I’ve got good news and I have bad news

If you’ve been following along on all my different social media outlets, you know I’ve been facing some craziness. I’ve had some big decisions to make, and they stressed me out.

I’ve talked to friends, mentors, colleagues, and said more prayers than I’ve said in a long time. The hardest part was that the major decision was a no-lose situation. Either choice would have been amazing on its own, but choosing between them was a really difficult situation. After one final phone call, I knew what to do. And I also knew that I should have called that person first, because everything he said was spot on.

My decision will change my life in every way, for the foreseeable future. And no, I’m not being dramatic. So you guys wanted to know what’s going?

There are moments when something if put in front of you, and if you leave it there, you’ll regret it forever. This is one of those moments. (And no, it was not a bacon maple cupcake, although one of those would be delicious.)

Over the last couple of days I’ve used the phrase “I’ve got some good news and some bad news” quickly followed up with “I’ve been asked to…”. I’ve gotten a lot of hugs, and a few tears

Next month, I’m moving to Chicago for a huge promotion.
It’s one of those “wait, you guys want me to do what?!” situations, because it’s a big job. Like if I need to talk to someone with more responsibility than me, I’ll have to call someone in another part of the country. It’s crazy!

So now that you’ve had the good news…

It’s the kind of big job that after my Zooma Napa race with Christine in June, I’ve decided I’m not planning to race for the rest of the year. I’m going to defer my planned fall half, and will not be running a late fall marathon. I’m also not signing up for any WDW Marathon weekend races in January.

While I plan to still run (and keep my milage up so I could run a half on a whim) and continue to work on my speed and strength, I can’t guarantee what this new role is going to do to my schedule, and the decision to take it means I have to give it precedence. Training for PRs has to take a back seat for the rest of the year. Instead I will do something I have never really done since really getting into running 18 months ago: I’m going to run for me.

It also means that my blog posts and social media presence is going to be significantly reduced. It doesn’t mean I’m going away, but I’ll probably be on more of a once a week post schedule more regularly, and social media will primarily be a before and after hours kind of thing.

Finally, it means my Florida trip with my girlfriends is off. While I’m still hoping to get away over Memorial Day weekend, I’m just not able to plan it this far ahead.

To some people, this probably feels like I’m giving up a lot, but I’m a highly goal driven person. I’ve been working for an opportunity like this since childhood. I am scared, nervous and excited, all of which mean I’m doing exactly the right thing!

Who do I know in Chicago?
If you had only a few weeks left in Philly, what would you do?
What are some shorter fun races in the Chicago area I should do this summer?

42 thoughts on “So… I’ve got good news and I have bad news

  1. Oh my god!!! I’m catching up on blogs now (you know, since I just moved across the country) and saw this! First of all, I know just what you are going through. If you want advice on stuff to do in your last few weeks in Philly read my pre-move blog posts! Second, I know it is probably super scary right now and very overwhelming but you can totally do this šŸ™‚ It will be so worth it when you move, plus getting to explore a new city is a ton of fun! I love Chicago so you are going to have a blast! If you and I are ever back in Philly at the same time we should totally meet up and do tons of Philly stuff (Wawa!). Good luck with your move!

  2. Congrats on the promotion! Chicago is an amazing city…and maybe you can race ZOOMA Chicago next year?

    I’ve been trying to find your email address to ask you a question about the ZOOMA Napa Valley race and haven’t been very successful. Do you mind sending me an email (runningonwaffles@gmail.com)? Thanks!

  3. That is awesome – congrats! It’s exciting to have new challenges and opportunities professionally and I know you have worked hard to earn them. I think it’s smart to focus on work for now, and when you feel like that’s under control you can add races back in!
    PS. Based on your earlier social media comments, I totally thought you were considering moving abroad…Chicago is a little closer than I guessed. Hah!

    • Thankfully I haven’t been asked to move abroad yet, although I was offered an alternate position that would have had more international travel. Tough choice!

  4. gah, I met you and follow in IG And Twitter but hadn’t visited your blog until now!! congratulations on the move and promotion!! my best friend lives in Chicago if you need a connection šŸ™‚ you’ll love it and I’m visiting in June!

  5. Congratulations! Sometimes you just have to take the bull by the horns and dive into the unexpected. You are lucky to have the opportunity to do that now. Running will always be there but leadership/job advancement won’t. šŸ™‚ It might seem like a sacrifice now, but soon everything will fall into place & you’ll be back to racing in no time.

    • Thank you! I know it is absolutely the right decision, and after a year of almost continuous training, I’m actually kind of looking forward to a training break šŸ™‚

  6. Such awesome news!! You so deserve this. I know the feeling of ‘running for me’. Since my accident and not knowing if I could ever run again, I do it just for me… and I am so much happier. I’ve decided 5k’s and races may be a part of my future, but for now running will be just more me. Best wishes on your new adventure! I know you will ROCK this!!!

    • Thank you, Kristie! You are such a huge inspiration for me, and really always have been. I am still trying to get back to a Maine at some point this summer and hopefully we can catch up!

  7. Congrats! Scary but such an important step! I would do a final Philly run with Karen and Mer, b/c they are cool! My job occupies my energy, and lately my health, so so many things like exercise in general and even social media has been put on the backburner. Just trying to get through at this point! I just have no energy. I can relate. Your job sounds way more high profile than mine, but the energy needed sounds very alike! I am sure you will be great at it and Chicago is so amazing! Love it there. You’ll only be an hour plane ride from me! And someday, we will do that girls weekend in a warm place, or maybe Chicago!! šŸ™‚ Best of luck, and I know in the end you will be glad you did it!

    • It’s amazing how easily work can overcrowd your everything, isn’t it?! I hope things have calmed down for you a bit. And I would love a girls weekend šŸ™‚

  8. I am SO excited for you (and sad for me because Philly is way closer than Chicago)! I guess this just means that I’m going to have to get myself out to Chicago, huh? I’ve have no doubt that this will be an incredible year for you and that you’ll reach all the goals you’ve set for yourself. It’s incredibly wise to shift your focus from PRs in a running capacity to PRs in a professional one.You’ve got this.

  9. Congratulations! That’s a big move- but sometimes the scariest decisions are the most rewarding ones! I’m incredibly excited for you- sad I didn’t get to meet you one one of my Philly trips, but I guess that just means I need to plan a trip to chicago, eh?

  10. Many many congratulations on your promotion and your new adventure! Stepping back from racing while you make this transition is a smart choice, and luckily you’re moving to an amazing city that has a lot to do. I’m sure you’ll love running along Lake Michigan. I can only imagine how beautiful and inspiring running along there will be!

  11. Congratulations! I am SO excited for you! When something amazing happens, it may mean making sacrifices – but then you know what you want the most. I can’t wait to hear more about how things go! (Not to mention, you’ll be 4 hours away from me. Just sayin’ šŸ˜‰ )

    • Thank you! It’s exciting and crazy all at the same time. And yay! 4 hours is nothing. And I think we need to make Christine come visit šŸ™‚

  12. Congratulations on your promotion!!! This is a very exciting time. I’ve moved around for my career so I know how nerve wracking it can be, but it’s definitely worth it. New city, new adventures. And Chicago is a great place. Frontera grill is my fave resto and I love the neighborhood, Lincoln Park.

  13. Congrats on the promotion! It sounds like an amazing opportunity!

    I think putting yourself first is absolutely the best thing to do…..Although I’m super sad that you won’t be at Surftown! Maybe one day I’ll have the opportunity to meet you!

  14. Ahhhh how exciting! Sad yet another person is leaving Philly, but I am too, and I actually have a list of things I am trying to get done in my final 2 months here if you would like to see? That is very exciting, and Chicago will be a lot of fun! SO much Chicago pizza….which is better than thin style….NY readers dont kill me šŸ˜› I have a list of places to go there too! I will be there for te marathon in October šŸ™‚

  15. Congratulations!!!!!! This sounds like a fantastic opportunity and I think the decision to step away from racing while you make the transition is very smart. I’m so happy for you to see all your hard work and dedication rewarded.

Share your thoughts!

