It’s a love / hate thing

It’s been a long, cold, ridiculous winter. So I am beyond excited about the temps rising, days getting longer, and everything becoming green again,

There’s something about spring and summer, that no matter what’s going on, you’re just in a better mood.

But here’s the thing: I’m allergic to all that stuff. Starting this past weekend, my 8 months of allergy hell began. My ears and head are stuffy. I can’t stop sneezing. My eyes are watery. It’s super attractive.

And it can make it tough to run! So I thought I’d share some of my early allergy season running tips:

Soak it up. Water is your best friend. More so than normal. It helps your body clear all that crud out, and keeps you hydrated if you have to take any medicine to keep you breathing.

Befriend the rag. Every run (unless I forget it) I add a torn up rag to my run gear. It usually hangs out of the front of my capris or running skirt, looks ridiculous I’m sure, but I’m not a fan of snot rockets, so it’s how I keep myself breathing through my nose. Don’t knock it until you try it 😊

Learn to love dawn. As much as I love a good run to burn off whatever happened during the day, running in the morning, when the dew is still keeping any pollen down is a better option. Other positive: you’ll be more alert and awake all day!

Practice, practice, practice. I have run long runs and races while on medication for my allergies, but only because I’m always on them. I’m cautious they don’t have acetaminophen or ibuprofen in them which can cause significant issues during endurance events. I also make sure I’m more hydrated than normal. If you think you’ll need something on race day, make sure you’re running regularly with it so you know how your body will react.

Hit the showers. Make sure you shower as soon as you can after you do run. Since its warmer out, pollen will inevitably stick to you. Extra misery. Don’t take your chances, wash that stuff off as soon as you can!

So here’s to hoping we all survive allergy season, again!

Do you have allergies?
What’s your best allergy survival tip to keep you out on the roads?
Who’s ready for terrible allergies if it means winter is over? This girl, for one!

3 thoughts on “It’s a love / hate thing

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one noticing the change in my sinuses! 🙂 One other suggestion….I’m a Claratin D user, but I’d recommend trying out the meds (if you choose to use any) well before any planned race. I’ve had bad stomach reactions to them and it’s made for an unpleasant day!

Share your thoughts!

