Healthy Recipe: Simple Egg White & Veggie Muffins

As I mentioned in my post this morning, I am ready to take control of my nutrition again. I’m starting by going nut with food prep. I wanted lots of healthy options so that I couldn’t get bored, but also had lots of yumminess.

I’ve been doing smoothies for the last couple of months, but I know I’m taking in way too many calories with those, and it’s throwing my day off. So I decided to make something that would be filling & healthy that required very little effort.

20140302-130606.jpg

Simple Egg White & Veggie Muffins
Makes 10 servings
Calories: 64 kCal
Fat: 1g
Carbs: 3g
Fiber: 1g
Protein: 9g

Ingredients
2.5 cups egg whites
150g chopped asparagus (~1 cup)
85g chopped broccoli (~1.5cups)
130g diced red pepper (~3/4 cup)
3/4 cup plain non-fat Greek yogurt
1/3 cup pecorino Romano (can sub with Parmesan or nutritional yeast)
Sea salt to taste

Directions
1) Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees. Spray muffin tins with non-stick spray (I used olive oil spray).

2) Mix all ingredients in a bowl, mixing until yogurt is dissolved.

3) Ladle into muffin tins, and cook for 30-40 minutes or until muffins are puffed up, and no longer wet on top. Should also be browned around the edges.

4) Serve immediately or let cool and refrigerate and reheat. For a heartier breakfast pair with fruit, more veggies, or grains of some sort.

4 thoughts on “Healthy Recipe: Simple Egg White & Veggie Muffins

  1. Egg white omelets have to be my favorite breakfast šŸ™‚ They are so good! And so versatile with the combination of veggies you put in them šŸ™‚

Share your thoughts!

