The day I imagined Bart Yasso yelling at me on the treadmill

When I decided to use Runner’s World SmartCoach Plus, part of me decided that meant Bart Yasso was my coach. I mean, in theory, he kind of is, since he’s the Chief Running Officer, and it is a running training plan.

After last week’s runs felt far too easy to be really working toward a faster me, I updated my plan to account for faster times for my runs, without being overly aggressive. This was another rough week at work, so although I got my training runs in, I wasn’t as successful at getting to Unite. I decided that meant I was going to hit it up a few times this weekend.

Yesterday my training plan had me scheduled for 2 easy miles. I had an 8 am meeting, so I decided I’d run during cardio at Unite, instead of using the Spin bike, as I usually do. I knew nothing about that would make it 2 easy miles.

As soon as Coach Jesse started class, I imagined Bart Yasso yelling at me for not doing easy miles when I was supposed to be doing easy miles.

20140228-221909.jpg
Instead, I did 20 minutes of 80-90% of sprint speed at 1-8 inclines. It was hard. Really hard.

I looked at the runners along the row and saw how much faster they were going than me, and the imagined Bart Yasso yelling at me to run my own run. This time I listened. It wasn’t about being as fast as the people around me, it’s about being as fast as I can be, and working hard to become faster.

20140228-220420.jpg

To even out the work on the treadmill, I worked my upper body super hard afterward. I finally did pull-ups (assisted, but still, they’re my nemesis, any way of doing them is a win), I went WAY up in weights, and stretched well. I was already sore before I got home. Class this morning my leave me immobile.

Do you have real (or imaginary) people who berate you for not following your training?
Does anyone else hate hill sprints on treadmills because you are afraid to fall off?
How do you change up your workouts when the week didn’t go as scheduled?

8 thoughts on “The day I imagined Bart Yasso yelling at me on the treadmill

  1. HAHA! I LOVE this! I imagine he’s yelling at me all the time, in an encouraging “I’ll kick your ass if you don’t finish this” way! Love this post!

  2. I do hear him encouraging me to reach my goal. To perservere and not get in my own way. Also he tells me to slow down my long runs so I am not doing them at race pace. Silly, yet it helps!

  3. This is a great post – totally made me laugh! Bart is so great and I’m really hoping to see him at Shamrock again this year.

    I often try to incorporate less gym-focused exercise when I’m having a bad week. For example, I’ll do a home workout with my resistance band or I’ll get out and run around with the dog in the backyard for an hour or something like that. Sometimes you just need a change of scenery. My other favorite is to walk a trail with a girlfriend – it’s 5 miles so you get a good workout and get to gab the whole way. 🙂

    • This week I was pretty good about getting up early to run, but had a hard time getting to my cross-training classes in the evenings. I need to force myself to go do strength in the apartment gym if necessary. The strength is key for me to get faster!

  4. I’m Malinda, the slower 1/2 of @TwinsRun. Leah, the faster 1/2, always berates me when I don’t follow her training advice – but only because she loves me and wants me to BQ. 🙂 I really need to listen to her because she’s BQ’d x 3!

Share your thoughts!

