Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger

So I’ve written about my obsession with Unite Fitness before. I’ve now been going for almost 2 months now, and even though every class kicks my ass, I’m loving it.

20140222-220052.jpg
One of my favorite things about their model is that each month of a quarter has a different goal: stability & endurance, strength & conditioning, and athletic power. I missed much of stability & endurance because Disney was mid-January, but strength is giving me results! In the last 2 weeks I’ve done my first 10 real push-ups in years, I’m handling spin hill repeats & hill sprints like a champ, and moved up a set of weights for my upper body.

20140222-220017.jpg
Don’t get me wrong, I’ve got a ways to go in all categories, but I’m excited at the results I’m already seeing. In my quasi-tempo run on Saturday I felt them too. The few hills I encountered I ran with far less difficulty than I had in the past, and I maintained a solid speed that was much faster than I should have been I running at this point in training.

20140222-220226.jpg
I’m excited to see what this means for the rest of my training cycle. And later this week I’m meeting with Unite’s dietician to put some additional focus on my nutrition. I eat clean fairly well, but I’m not seeing the results I would expect, so rather than trying to figure it out on my own, I’m letting the professionals do their jobs.

Just under 10 weeks till Pittsburgh, and under 6 till Cherry Blossom!

Have you seen cross-training impact your running?
Most recent fitness improvement?
Can you do a real push-up? How many?

9 thoughts on “Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger

  1. I’ve definitely noticed improvement in my running since I got serious about cross training, especially weight training. Sadly, I still struggle with real push ups, but I will get there.

  2. I just recently did the same thing with nutrition. I wasn’t seeing the results I wanted and when you spend some quality time kicking your butt at the gym and prepping your meals it gets frustrating! I finally got a good plan to follow and today starts day one! I can’t wait to see results!

Share your thoughts!

