Unleashing my Kitchen Creativity: True Citrus Review, Recipes and a Giveaway

A few months ago I saw this little box in the juice aisle at Whole Foods, and decided to buy it.

20140209-075528.jpg
Little did I know this was not going to be just a little natural flavor for my water. I quickly started using it on salads, especially at work, instead of dressing. The bright lemon flavor, when used with sea salt, was exactly what my typical salads needed to be a little different.

20140209-075817.jpg
Spinach salad with baked salmon, egg, avocado, topped with True Lemon and Sea Salt

A few weeks ago, True Citrus reached out to see if I’d be interested in doing a review of their full product line, in addition to creating some new recipes using them. I jumped at the opportunity, both because I was already so obsessed with True Lemon, but also because it was just the thing to get my creative juices flowing again in the kitchen.

The True Citrus Product Portfolio
I was beyond excited when the box arrived and saw all of the different things they’d sent to me.

20140209-080928.jpg
Individual packets of True Lemon (shown above), True Lime, True Orange, and True Grapefruit.

20140209-081044.jpg
True Lemon and True Lime shakers

20140209-081604.jpg
Seasoning shakers in Lemon Pepper, Lime, Garlic & Cilantro, and Orange Ginger

20140209-081824.jpg
Single serving drink mixes in Lemonade, Raspberry Lemonade, Peach Lemonade, Black Cherry Limeade, and Orange Mango

I can honestly say I’ve been blown away by each of these products. I’ve tried nearly all of them (I have not used the Lemon Pepper seasoning, or the a Orange Mango drink mix) and each one has added amazing flavor to my life. One thing I love about them all is that they are made with real, cold pressed, crystallized fruit. No fake flavors here, if anything, you’ll forget it’s not fresh fruit.

The drink mixes are made with stevia, and since they’re made with real crystallized fruit, taste like summer, not like chemicals. I’m addicted to the black cherry limeade and peach lemonade.

The True Orange crystals were probably the most surprising addition to my life. They add the perfect amount of light orange flavor to a bottle or big tumbler of water. I’d never thought about adding a slice of orange to water, yet the flavor was a nice change from the typical lemon or lime.

True Grapefruit was added to my salad combos last week and I forgot how wonderful the combination of grapefruit and avocado can be. It adds a new dimension to a typical spinach salad.

So where can you find this wonderful stuff? You can buy everything in their online store, and they sell in many grocery stores around the country.

Fun in the Kitchen
I’ve had the most fun with creating recipes using these products over the last few weeks. The flavor crystals add a twist to smoothies, extra flavor to basic foods, and can be used to base flavoring for your whole meal.

Here are a few of my favorite recipes I’ve created:

Thai-Inspired Coconut Lime Curry Couscous with Veggies & Scallops

20140209-082829.jpg

Vegan Grass Skirt Smoothie

20140209-083430.jpg

Maple Orange Glazed Scallops with Veggies & Couscous

20140209-085514.jpg

The Giveaway
The awesome people at True Citrus want me to share my #TrueLove with a reader. One reader will win the same goodie box I received to brighten their winter and add some citrus to their kitchen.

Enter the giveaway on Rafflecopter, and share your #TrueLove.

Disclaimer: True Citrus provided me with their family of products to review and another set to give away to a reader. All opinions are my own.

11 thoughts on “Unleashing my Kitchen Creativity: True Citrus Review, Recipes and a Giveaway

  1. My new found #TrueLove is healthy cooking. There is nothing better than cooking food that is great for your body but tastes so good! I’ve had much more energy and it’s always great when I find a new healthy recipe to try that my husband loves too! Not to mention food prepping appeals to my OCD side…

  2. I’ve been FYI g to try your scallops recipes since you IG them earlier this week!! Definitely on the menu this week! I’ve also started adding True Lemon to my salads and tuna (in addition to my water!!). Love it 🙂

Share your thoughts!

