Hurray It’s Friday!!!

This week has seemed like it was a minimum of 20 days long.

I realized this week what a huge impact getting in a really good workout has on my attitude. For the last 2 days, I’ve gotten really ridiculous workouts in at Unite Fitness. Both days have been upper body focused days, and yet my legs are equally as dead as my upper body. I’ve sweat more than I have in a long time, and I leave with a big smile on my face.

20140130-212540.jpg
Loving my progress too!

It made me start to think about how easy it is to forget how those endorphins can change your everything. It’s almost amazing that you can forget feeling happy and confident after even just a few minutes of good, hard sweat. Before you know it, a few days have gone by and it seems insurmountable to get back to it, but just doing it will make you feel so amazing.

20140130-212748.jpg
Just getting to class on Wednesday made my day!

If endorphins are addicting, why is it so easy to quit? Why hasn’t research been done on this?

Tomorrow I’m taking a rest day because I have a date (what?!!!!) but am already scheduled for an early class on Saturday, and can’t wait. And plan on getting a run in because it’s supposed to be 50 here on Saturday. Seriously the world might be ending. It’s going to be warm, and I have a date.

Do you always feel better after a great workout?
What’s your current workout of choice?
What’s on tap for your weekend?

11 thoughts on “Hurray It’s Friday!!!

  1. Yay for good workouts! And yay for the awesome weather and your date! I personally think that people quit because it so hard (and sometimes expensive and humiliating and painful etc) just to get the endorphins. I love the way I feel after a good run but it’s not always easy getting there! And after a bad workout you sometimes don’t even feel endorphins – I’m thinking about the one 7 miler I did in the snow and 13 degree wind chill where I was so cold that I couldn’t breathe correctly for a few minutes and my husband almost called 911. There were no endorphins there. But yeah, once you find a perfect workout and do it all the time the endorphins are totally worth it!

  2. A DATE?!?!?!?! YAY! Hope you have a fabulous time!

    A good workout can solve a lot of evils from the work week. I have a feeling next week is going to be brutal for me since our clients will be back in the office after 3 days off. The consulting life…sigh.

    • It’s shocking, isn’t it?!

      Ugh, I don’t even want to think about your week next week. I’m so sorry. Maybe we need a virtual wine date next Friday πŸ™‚

    • Oh no no no. You have missed my week. It’s been terrible, and next week will be worse. The only good part has been class at Unite. Without it, I’d have curled up and cried for hours.

  3. I always feel 100% ready for the day after my workout (I’m a get to the gym when it opens kind of person). My current workout of choice has been weight training, followed by some sprints. I have nothing planned for the weekend yet :/ I am too indecisive!

    • I need to get back into morning runs at a minimum. I can’t do morning classes because they’re too late for me to make it to work even close to on time.

      Weekends are made for being spontaneous and relaxed! Enjoy it 😊

Share your thoughts!

