Wellbeing Wednesday: Did you know?

I’m trying a new weekly post focused on wellbeing. Wellbeing is the combination of your emotional, physical, and spiritual health, but from your perspective. Your personal outlook on your overall health and happiness has a significant impact on your life.

This morning I got to work from home curled up in my blanket with my slippers on because two very nice men were coming to pick up my old couch.

20140129-105417.jpg
Let me back up a bit. When I moved into my new apartment I had a ton of stuff that I had in storage, and as I unpacked, decided in no longer needed, no longer wanted, or both. One of those items was a really nice sleeper sofa that I had replaced in my living room with a new couch.

20140129-104119.jpg
That’s the now 6 month old couch. I’m still in love!

For several months I tried to decide what to do with the old couch. It overwhelmed my living room, and made my apartment overall feel smaller, so I knew I needed to get rid of it. But couldn’t decide whether I wanted to use Craigslist to try to sell it, or to donate it.

Last weekend, while I was reorganizing my life and getting everything where it should be, I found out that the local Habitat for Humanity did pick ups and either used the furniture in houses that were being built and furnished or sold to raise money for other things they needed. I decided this was the perfect way to rid my apartment of this still great couch, while helping someone in need.

Did you know that most cities and towns have several organizations that will come to your house to pick up items for donation!? Goodwill, the Salvation Army, the DAV (Disabled American Veterans) and Habitat, to name just a few, will all set up time and in just a few minutes, you’ll have done something good without having to load up a truck and drive to a donation center.

Do you regularly donate used goods to charities rather than sell or discard them?
Do you have a favorite local organization that you work with or donate to?
Do you like the idea of my Wellbeing Wednesday posts? Any ideas for future posts you’d like to see?

7 thoughts on “Wellbeing Wednesday: Did you know?

  1. I always take clothes, shoes and accessories that I no longer want/need to my local non-profit thrift store. (I don’t do Goodwill since they’re a for-profit business).

    This summer, we did a curb alert on Craigslist to get rid of gutters that no longer matched our house, but still worked. The guy who picked them up was beyond thrilled and actually came to our door to thank us, rather than just taking them and leaving. Pretty amazing what others will want even if you think it’s worthless!

  2. Depends on the condition of the furniture. Sometimes I will sell, sometimes I will give it away.
    I give away more clothes and knick knacks as such. I prefer to give my clothes and stuff to Rare Opportunity, and knick knacks to the salvo’s.
    Couch is still looking great.

  3. I donate all the time. I give large items to the Habitat Humanity ReStore near me. I actually just got rid of an old dining room set instead of junking it. I’ve never called them to pick up because luckily we’ve always been able to fit everything in the back of our truck.

    I also frequently give clothes and some housewares to the local Goodwill, Craigslist some items that I think are worth some money, sell books on Half.com that I know I can get a little cash for, and then have just put things out on my front lawn marked free when I’m lazy.

    Ok, now that I’m reading this back to myself I sound like a hoarder!

  4. That’s such a great idea! I always donate my clothes to either the drop offs or to goodwill! No better way to get rid of clutter than giving it to someone in need!

Share your thoughts!

