24 hours till #WDWMarathon and Costume Reveal

I cannot believe that in 24 hours Karen and I will be at the starting line for our very first marathon. If I said I wasn’t emotional, I’d be lying. I’ve come pretty close to crying no less than 10 times a day for the last few days. But not because I’m sad or I’m scared, but because I pretty honestly cannot believe I’m a person who is about to run a marathon.

I’m also beyond amazed by the amount of awesome support I’m getting. All day I got emails from people at work wishing me luck; a friend has been dressing her daughters up in princess attire with awesome motivational words and texting me pictures; a coworker who is running Dopey (and guiding 2 Achilles International Athletes, one for the 5k and one for the half) has been sending me awesome words of advice and support.

At this point, I’m trying to step back and just enjoy everything. I got to meet Bart Yasso and talk with one of the RW editors for a while (while they tried to convince me to do the Hat Trick at the Festival this year, and that it would not interfere with marathon training for Philly).

20140110-220526.jpg
I went to my work event, where I got to see so many people I haven’t seen in a year, it made my soul happy. I got big hugs, gave big hugs, and got some awesome words of advice from our CEO (who is currently deciding between stopping after guiding an Achilles athlete for the half or doing the Goofy and running the marathon by himself on Sunday, and is an Ironman finisher). In short, he said, don’t let the nerves or the focus get in the way of experiencing the magic. I’m going to do my best to take those words to heart.

And I’ll start by the fact that I’ll be dressed in costume. Karen and I started talking about costumes months ago. I really wanted to do something fun, but not the typical princess or winged fairy costume (they are awesome, and as Cigna says, Go You). One day I got an idea, texted Karen, and it was pretty much sealed.

20140110-220013.jpg

I am super excited about my costume, because it doesn’t feel like a costume, but it will look adorable.

20140110-220628.jpg
So, here’s to 26.2 magical miles with my best running friend, surrounded by thousands of awesome people, and with some of my favorite colleagues and my dad and stepmom waiting at the end!

So, did anyone guess our costumes in advance?
Have your ever run in costume?
Any special requests for character pictures? I already found these two (Thanks, Cigna!)


20140110-220757.jpg

Disclaimer: I was invited to the Team Cigna Meet Up as part of Team Cigna, but all entry fees, and travel were paid for by me.

19 thoughts on “24 hours till #WDWMarathon and Costume Reveal

  1. Firstly I’d like to send you my best wishes and my excitement for your first marathon. And what a marathon to run as your first? WDW is definitely on my wish list and I’m enjoying reading your build up so much. I can’t wait to read your recap once you’ve done it. Your costume looks amazing! Good luck with it and most of all ENJOY!! See you on the other side πŸ™‚ x

      • I knowwwww. I think you passed through while we were on Rockin’ Roller coaster. I searched too! And probably annoyed the heck out of my fam because I could’ve just stood and watched for an hour. How are you? How’s your eye?

Share your thoughts!

