What Pumps You Up? My #WDWMarathon Pump-Up Playlist

Earlier this year, I gave up making playlists for running. Not because I don’t still love running to great music, but between work, blogging, Twitter conversations, actually running, and sleep, I was slacking. And then I found RockMyRun, and never turned back. I love their mixes, because I can change my mix depending on my mood.

But, I need pump up music while I’m prepping for the race. So, I created a #WDWMarathon Pump Up Playlist!!! It turned out to be bigger than I expected, and pretty awesome, if I say so myself. So, drumroll please, here it is (broken into several pictures):

20140108-213234.jpg

20140108-213340.jpg

20140108-213346.jpg

20140108-213354.jpg

20140108-213400.jpg

20140108-213405.jpg

20140108-213409.jpg

20140108-213414.jpg

20140108-213420.jpg

I love a good mix of rock, pop, dance and rap. And a few that bring back good memories, for good measure.

What songs am I missing?
Do you make playlists for your races?
Do you listen to music while you’re getting ready for races?

10 thoughts on “What Pumps You Up? My #WDWMarathon Pump-Up Playlist

  1. I love that you have Applause on there – I think that’s a very underrated song!

    Here’s a few of my favorites:
    1.) Black Skinhead \ Mercy \ Power by Kanye West
    2.) Levels by Avicii
    3.) Counting Stars by One Republic
    4.) Timber by Pitbull
    5.) Who Gon’ Stop Me by Jay-Z and Kanye West
    6.) Thug Luv by Bone Thugs ‘N Harmony and 2Pac
    7.) Starships by Nicki Minaj
    8.) Good Time by Owl City \ Carly Rae Jepsen (good for a part of the race when you anticipate that you’ll be dragging)
    9.) Push It by Rick Ross
    10.) Enter Sandman by Metallica (great for the start of a race!)

    Have a great race!

  2. Live your playlist, girl! Mine is a bit stale right now so thanks for the ideas! I have a prerace playlist that I try to listen to on race morning if last-min logistics don’t get in the way. It’s best before leaving for the start as it gets me focused. Rock it out at Disney!!

    • Most of my races last year were racecations, so I would blast my pump up tunes in the hotel room. I love it 🙂

      And thank you! I’m excited, but getting more nervous by the minute!

  3. I like the contradiction between Avicii’s “Wake Me Up” and Chris Brown’s “Don’t Wake Me Up.” Three suggested adds for you…
    -I’m a huge Mumford and Sons’ fan and both “Hopeless Wanderer” and “Below My Feet” are on nearly any running mix I put together.
    -The Script’s “Hall of Fame” is a must. Inspiring and a good tune for your FIRST EVER MARATHON!
    Good luck, my friend…

    • I laughed as I put both of them on there… Both good for their own reasons. And I’ll let it be known that I only like Chris Brown’s music, I’m not making a statement about his treatment of women.

      Good call on the other Mumford tunes! I’ll add them in.

      And thank you 🙂

Share your thoughts!

