Healthy Recipe: Peanut Curry Stew

Last weekend I went nuts cooking. I also realized that with the marathon this weekend, and then likely not wanting to spend my time on my feet in my kitchen when I get back, I decided to go extra nuts, and make enough stuff to freeze for the following week.

And I got creative. Partially because I was lazy, but I worked out in my favor. I was going to make more of my Turkey & Butternut Squash Chili, but I only had garbanzo beans, so I decided to make a curry soup. And then I ran out of curry powder, so I ended up going to the grocery store anyway. But, my “soup” became stew, and is delicious, and again, made in a crock-pot so it’s easy to make.

It can also be made vegan by adding more beans or vegetables and leaving out the ground turkey.

20140108-192730.jpg
Peanut Curry Stew
Makes 8, 1 1/2 cup, servings
Calories: 196 kCal
Fat: 2g
Carbs: 27g
Dietary Fiber: 5g
Protein: 20g

Ingredients
1 lb extra lean ground turkey breast
2 cups butternut squash, diced
1 can garbanzo beans, no salt added
2/3 cup frozen peas and carrots
3/4 cup coconut milk (I used So Delicious, not canned, sweetened coconut milk)
1 large can, diced tomatoes (28 oz, I used fire roasted to add some flavor)
2 tbsp PB2 or other powdered peanut butter
2/3 cup onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
3/4 cup dry brown rice
3 tbsp curry powder
1 tsp cumin
Salt & pepper as needed

Directions
1) Coat sauté pan with cooking spray, and sauté onions, garlic, 1 tbsp of curry, and turkey until turkey is cooked.

2) Add all ingredients to crock pot, EXCEPT for the rice.

3) Cook for 3 hours on high, stirring occasionally. After 3 hours, add the rice and stir. Cook for another hour.

I serve mine with fresh spinach mixed in, and an Ezekiel English muffin.

3 thoughts on “Healthy Recipe: Peanut Curry Stew

    • Oh they are amazing! They make the best garlic bread (I cover them with Mrs. Dash Herb& Garlic seasoning and spray with olive oil before putting in the toaster oven).

Share your thoughts!

