2014 will be the year of 1000

2013 was a year of amazing accomplishments, lots of firsts, smiles and tears. I’ve said for months that I’m so ready for a new year, and it’s almost here, so I’ve been spending a lot of time thinking about my goals. But tonight I’m doing the Resolution Run with Philadelphia Runner, so I wanted to release them at the same time.

Right after Thanksgiving Runner’s World tweeted out a thought that stuck with me:

20131130-204550.jpg

It made me think really specifically about my goals and whether I will be able to dedicate time and energy to making them happen, and which might be more of a dream. I do think, however, dreams are okay, because in the future you might ready to put a plan into place to make them happen. But you need to know the difference in which are your goals and which are your dreams.

In my post on Resolutions for Every a Runner, I noted you should make goals, not resolutions, and to use the SMART system to develop them. While the goals below are my public goals. Trust me when I tell you there’s a whole training log full of how I’ll make these happen, and as things adjust throughout the year, they will also be updated, adjusted and upgraded, as necessary.

Running & Fitness Goals for 2014
Run 1000 miles. I made this goal without really thinking about it for 2013. It seemed like a doable number, so I said it out loud, but thought about it minimally, and certainly didn’t plan for it. This year I know I have to average 19 miles per week. Once I get my race calendar fully planned out, I’ll be able to plan this out more specifically.

Get strong. A huge part of me hitting the big goals above is by focusing on strength. I’m already signed up for Bobbi McCormick’s New Year’s Shred to kick off the strength training, and earlier this week did a trial session with Unite Fitness and joined for the month. I’m already obsessed with it, and love the concept (more to come on this).

Get faster. In order to meet some of the more detailed goals I have for myself, I need, and want, together faster. I’m aiming for some big improvements this year. It will mean working really hard, but I’m excited about it, and also signed up for the Runner’s World SmartCoachPlus. I’ve got my marching running orders ready starting 2-weeks post Disney, including speed work. I’ve signed up for 2 half marathons, with plans to add at least 1 more, with a big time goal to hit. I’ll be running the Pittsburgh Half Marathon in early May. It was my first half 5 years ago, I thought it fitting to go back and run it again with much more intense training. I’ll also be running the Surftown Half in Westerly/Watch Hill, Rhode Island in mid-September. It’s an extremely flat, beachfront course, that is known for producing PRs.

Finish my first marathons. No, that is not a typo. I’ve already got plans for my second marathon, even though I haven’t finished my first one yet. Disney is on Sunday, January 12th, and I could not be more excited and nervous. Karen and I are running it to finish. No time goals (although we have our “we think we’ll finish around here” time so our families know when to expect to see us) but a focus on finishing the distance, enjoying the race, and learning. My second marathon will be Philly in November, barring any unforeseen circumstances, and I will work to figure out my time goal over the first half of the year.

Other Goals for 2014
Always have flowers. Seems silly, I know, but I have a spot in my entry way where I’ve had them frequently and they make me happy. A few dollars a week is totally worth having something pretty when I walk in the door every night.

Be involved. I’ve started to get more involved in things in the city, but not enough. I need to force myself to get out, be active and do things. Some of these things will be running related, but finding other fun things where I can meet people will be great.

Be healthy. I need to continue to focus on general health. From nutrition and food choices, to sleep and stress, I need to make it a priority.

Do yoga. A friend from grad school and I challenged each other a few times earlier this year, and are doing it for 2014, with a slight change. The goal is to do at least 15 minutes of yoga 5 days a week. For me a lot of this will be my quick post-run yoga sequence, or a bedtime yoga sequence, but I want to get to at least one actual class a week.

Choose joy. This is a favorite of Lisa of RunWiki and Bobbi McCormick of In Her Shoes Fitness, and I love it. Only I can control how I react to each day, and I need to choose joy more often.

So there they are! My goals for 2014.

What are you focused on for 2014?
Do you have your race calendar planned out yet?
Do you make personal goals in addition to your running or fitness goals?

16 thoughts on “2014 will be the year of 1000

  1. Pingback: 2014: My Year in Review | Run Stretch Go

  2. Sounds like a lot of great goals and you’ve already started to think about how you are going to reach them. All the best…2014 should be an exciting year!

    For me personally my big goal is to have a great race at Ironman Boulder. I realize that is a bit open ended but I want to execute a really great race and not think about how long that will take me. Everything from here until Boulder is to help reach that!

  3. That’s an amazing milage goal. I’m so impressed by people who can get out of the triple digits with running. I think some of my goals mirrors yours…minus the marathon! I really want to work on strength this year as well as speed. However, my main goal is to continue to get better from peroneal tendonitis. I really just want to get back into regular running and if I can run but not get to those goals, I’ll be Ok with it.

  4. I create a long list of goals each year and any that I don’t make are rolled into the next year, unless I find it doesn’t really align with my overall goals.

    This year’s focus is on making my house better reflect my family (hubby and I have a list of improvements we’d like to do this year), and simplifying by getting rid of things we don’t need or use and organizing.

    I’ll unveil my longer list on my blog in the next week or so πŸ™‚

    Happy New Year!

    • I love that you are focusing on your home. I wrote that in my goals journal yesterday as my “starting today I will…” I need to de clutter and organize more.

  5. I LOVE FLOWERS! My hairdresser and I always joke that if we were totally filthy stinking rich we would have weekly floral arrangements in our homes. This is a fantastic and fun goal. I always snag a small bunch when I go to my favorite local grocery store.

    • Thanks Christine! I thought it was a fun one too. I’ve been getting mine at either Whole foods or Trader Joe’s, and have been amazed. I bought a $12 bouquet at Thanksgiving that stayed alive for 2 weeks!

      A family friend’s now husband pre-ordered a rose bouquet to be delivered to her office every week, I think, until she dies. And no bouquet can be the same. I’m pretty sure he’s keeping that florist open!

  6. These are great goals! I think its especially great for you to already know that you want to strive for marathon #2 even though you haven’t crossed the finish line of marathon #1 yet – shows a lot of confidence and determination on your part. My focus for 2014 is to complete 14 races. I haven’t finalized my race calendar yet, but once I do, I’m hoping the other goals fall into place.

    • Thank you! And woah, 14 races! Impressive πŸ˜ƒ I feel like I did a lot of races last year, and decided to focus on quality rather than quantity, although the race I went into with no expectations but to have fun, ended up being my milestone PR!

  7. I know you spent a lot of time reflecting and you were very intentional with your goals. I think it’s great that it was such a reflective proccess for you. In fact, you inspired me to look a little more closely at my goals before finalizing them.
    I love these and know that you can/are capable of accomplishing them!
    I am beyond excited that we are about to embark on a 26.2 journey and share the accomplishment together.
    Wishing you a fabulous 2014 filled with strength, JOY and many miles πŸ™‚ xo

    • Thank you! I’m so excited to cross our first big goal off of our lists together and then support each other through our other goals. It’s great to have found my best running friend 😊

Share your thoughts!

