Saying Goodbye to 2013: The Year of Change

There’s less than 24 hours in 2013, and I’ve been ready for it to be over since September.

But let’s back up a bit and see why. I did my 2013 running recap, and while running was a huge part of my life, 2013 was probably the year of the most change in my life in 20 years. My parents split, got divorced, and my dad got remarried all in 1993. This year might have topped it.

January – I packed up my life and put it into storage, taking only slightly more than my little coupe would hold and drove from Hartford to Birmingham, AL. I took an opportunity at work that would mean being in AL for 6 months, and then be moved again (to a location unknown at the time). It meant leaving the best job I could have imagined, a boss that had become a good friend, and going from being about 2 hours away from my boyfriend to 25.

20131229-183151.jpg
My final goodbye to Apt 611

February – Less than a month into my Birmingham experience, my boyfriend of 5 years and I broke up. I was in a new place, knew almost no one, and started to seriously second guess what I was doing with my life. I was miserable. I was depressed. And then came a sign: a Lake Austin Spa weekend was on sale on Rue La La, and they had one spot left for Valentine’s weekend. I sent myself on a fabulous weekend where cell phones are banned outside your cabin, meals are healthy, the spa is amazing, and it was the escape I needed. It was also what prompted me to start blogging.

20131229-180550.jpg
View from the dining room

March – I started to really focus on my health and fitness. I did a 30 day yoga challenge with myself. I started to really focus on what I was eating, and training for my late April half really picked up.

20131229-182918.jpg
April – This was the month that lit my ass on fire. If I look back, this is when I realized I loved running. I looked forward to it. I felt angry and sad that terrorists chose a marathon as their target. And I was crushed when I felt like I was in the best shape of my life for a half that that didn’t go as planned. It spurred me to sign up for 3 more and focus on improving so I could get my PR.

20131229-183014.jpg
Looking ready to take on a rainy half marathon

May – I got into my groove in Birmingham, didn’t run a ton, but was already getting excited about the next big thing in my year.

20131230-193259.jpg
After my 10 mile trail run on Oak Mountain near Birmingham

June – June meant I was traveling. All. The. Time. I found out I was moving to Philly, and was literally flying every week getting started in my new job there. It was a tough month, but I explored Philly through my runs, and decided to do something big as I drove from Birmingham to Philly. I decided to run in every state I drove through, and raised $350 for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society while doing it.

20131230-193035.jpg
Pics from all my runs: Alabama, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, West Vrginia, Maryland, Pennsylvania

July – I was ready to PR Rock n Roll Chicago. I had trained hard. I was excited for the race and a mini-vacation to Chicago. I missed it by 2 minutes. The heat and sun got to me, and I had to slow down. But I did get to meet Chris Heuisler and Bobbi McCormick, who have both become a big part of my fitness and running life, so it was a win! I also met Karen and decided to switch from the Walt Disney World Half to Full. It seems like a lifetime ago!

20131230-192911.jpg
Pre-race in Chicago

August – I moved into my new apartment in Philly. Sadly, I still don’t feel completely moved in yet. I need to rectify that.

20131230-192717.jpg
My living room right after my new couch and rug were moved in

September – I joined Match.com. Notice I’m still super single. It hasn’t gone very well. But I did PR Philly Rock n Roll with Karen’s help.

20131230-192618.jpg
Karen and I post-PR

October – This was a big month! I went to my 10 year college reunion and had so much fun. It’s amazing how ten years can feel like summer break with good friends. I also turned 33.

20131230-192456.jpg
My reunion evening outfit

November – I became an honorary Cookie, and PR’d another half. I also survived my first totally solo Thanksgiving with a delicious meal, lots of workouts, and some rest time.

20131230-192339.jpg
Only special people get cookie hats and awesome t-shirts!

December – I “graduated” from a 5 year leadership program at work complete with an official diploma, and kind words about my leadership, capabilities, and work ethic, along with a couple of funny stories about my time working closely with him from the head of our US business. I’ve reconnected with some friends in Philly, and continued to meet amazing Twitter/blog/real life friends, like Meri from Scoot a Doot.

20131230-192119.jpg
We rocked the Ugly Sweater Run. And by rocked, I mean chatted while meandering through the 2.6 mile 5k (only about 1/2 mile short, but it wasn’t timed, so shame on us for even wearing the Garmin)

So that pretty much sums up my year. It had very high, highs, and very low, lows. I look forward to what 2014 has in store, but know it’s up to me to make it happen.

What was your biggest 2013 moment?
What are you most looking forward to in 2014?
Sum up your 2013 in 5 words or less!

21 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye to 2013: The Year of Change

  1. Pingback: 2014: My Year in Review | Run Stretch Go

  2. Thanks for sharing all of this! Betting that 2014 will even out a bit and be “top-heavy” with more highs than lows,which you clearly deserve. Keep deepening your friendships — that’s so where it’s at! All the best to you for a great 2014! Almost here…😊

    • That’s one of my favorite moments this year. The Cookies are one fantastic family 😊

      I hope 2014 brings you injury free marathons, a successful half ironman, and a puppy.

  3. So I just read your comment on my post about how you wish you ran when you lived in DC…and now I just learned you spent 6 months in Birmingham, where I lived for almost 2 years when I was fresh out of law school! How funny! This was certainly a year of big change for you — two moves, a breakup and more. I have to share that I became a more serious runner after my breakup with my ex as well — so I totally get that. Hope 2014 is a fabulous year for you!

    • That is so funny! We’re like opposite kindred spirits 😊 I lived in Clarendon and worked on K street when I was there. I miss it often!

      I hope you have a wonderful 2014 and that the last 6 months of wedding prep is stress free πŸ’ž

  4. I’m so grateful that you’re a part of my life – I know we got a chance to chat a bit about the earlier part of the year during the Ugly Sweater Run but I don’t think I realized just HOW MANY changes you went through before we met. You are a strong person, Cyanne, someone who persevered when the easier way would have been to snuggle on the couch and eat ice cream. And Boom Chicka Pop. πŸ˜‰ Someone who did a 18 miler. ALONE. In the snow! I mean, really!

    I think 2014 is going to bring many great things your way. You can and you will! xo

    • I am so happy to have you in my life too! Its funny how you can know how wonderful someone is without “meeting” them, and then when you do, it’s like you’ve known each other for a long time πŸ™‚

      And don’t worry, there was plenty of soy/almond/coconut ice cream consumed! It was just balanced out with running (which in Birmingham, my morning runs were done in laps around a Target/Best Buy parking lot. And I was once scared out of my mind by 2 deer at the end of the apartment driveway).

  5. It’s not often people are terribly honest in blogs and I’ve really enjoyed reading yours over the last few months. I appreciate the rawness and the hint of sadness I detected in this post…it feels like a real person, not an internet persona. And in fact, some of your words almost felt like my own during a less than fabulous time in my own life. I remember the year of my own major relationship breakdown and it was really tough. Hats off to you for picking yourself up, finding new things you enjoy, and improving your health! I really hope to meet you in January! Here’s to a better 2014!

    • Christine, you brought a little tear to my eye. Thank you! I’ve always hoped that my blog came across as raw honesty, both good and bad. Pretending life is wonderful all the time perpetuates the idea that life can be perfect, which it cannot. It’s how you deal with what life hands you is that gives you the strength and positivity to keep moving forward.

      I cannot wait to meet you in a few days (it’s so close!!!) and hope you have a wonderful end to 2013, and start to 2014.

    • Thanks, Emma! I hope 2014 brings happiness and success to you and your ventures. Also, I know it will be awesome because we will finally get to meet 😊

Share your thoughts!

