Healthy Recipe: Crock Pot Ratatouille

Last week someone made a comment about their slow cooker, and I remembered I have one! I just haven’t used it in over a year. I was, however, inspired to find something yummy to make this weekend.

Then, while I was traveling for work, lunch one day had ratatouille and brown rice as an option, and I remembered how much I adore both the dish and the movie. I had never made it before, so I was a little concerned with how it would turn out, but I have to say, I’ve eaten it for the past 2 days, and am in love with it.

I used Pinterest to find a base recipe from Food.com, and changed it up a bit to create my own version.

20131209-204644.jpg
Crock Pot Ratatouille
Serves 8
Calories: 100 kCal
Fat: 2g
Carbs: 17g
Protein: 3g

Ingredients
7 cups eggplant (2 medium eggplants), diced into 1/2 inch pieces
2 summer squash or zucchini, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
2 sweet red peppers, cut into 3/4 inch pieces
1 can fire roasted diced tomatoes
1 onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbsp olive oil
2 tsp dried basil
2 tsp dried oregano
1/8 cup oat flour
Salt & pepper to taste

Directions

1) Sauté olive oil & garlic in 1 tbsp oil until onions are translucent. Add to crock pot.

2) Use remaining oil to sauté eggplant until slightly browned, then transfer to crock pot. Add all other ingredients to crock pot.

3) Cook on high for 3-4 hours. Stir occasionally. When it’s finished, it should be thick & stew-like, and taste like a very chunky tomato sauce. Cook longer if needed to bring out flavors or thicken it up.

4) Serve hot, but it can be portioned out, and a frozen and reheated. It can be served in so many ways! With crusty bread, rice, with added protein or even as a chunky sauce over pasta or chicken or a nice white fish.

Sunday after my historic blizzard long run I cooked tri-color quinoa and sautéed shrimp to serve it over, and it was the perfect post-run meal. Monday night I added kidney beans and served it with Ezekiel English muffins (my version of crust bread) and it was just as delicious.

20131209-210042.jpg

One thought on “Healthy Recipe: Crock Pot Ratatouille

Share your thoughts!

