Who says you can’t go home?

It’s been 10 years since I was in college, but I spent the weekend straddling between being 22 and 32, and it was amazing. The best thing about reunions is that you get the best of both worlds: you have lived, learned, and you have more money than you did back then, but your friendships never change, so its amazing.

I had more fun than I’ve had in a very long time this weekend with old friends, at old hangouts, reminiscing, learning about our new lives, and making new memories that we’ll reminisce about in another 5 or 10 years.

We enjoyed the parts of the college that were there when we were, and the new ones, that make it feel even more like Hogwarts.

20131027-203459.jpg

Going into this weekend I was worried about whether I would remember howfar I’ve come in the last 10 years, but even more so with how far I’ve come in the last 10 months. Did I only eat salad all weekend? No.

20131027-204704.jpg
This started out as a huge plate of Coke Braised Chicken, it was too good to even stop to take a picture before it was gone.

But I did get myself out for a run. I was shooting for 8-10 miles while my partners in crime for the weekend were having breakfast with an old professor, and got to explore the riverfront in a way I never would have when I was in college.

20131027-205227.jpg

I spent the rest of the day meeting people’s adorable children, spouses, and drinking mimosas. The day was wonderful all around, although, truth be told, running 9 miles and the standing or walking for the majority of the day is probably not the best idea.

We spent the evening at one of our favorite bars downtown, drinking, catching up, and laughing at how some things don’t change. I was excited that the bar was fairly casual so I could be cute and comfy! And was most excited to learn an old friend reads my blog regularly (thanks, Lisa) but is disappointed I’m not discussing my Match.com experience more.

20131027-210222.jpg

We talked and laughed until well past midnight, walking with our feet 10 feet off of Beale.

20131027-210758.jpg

This morning I was so sad to say goodbye to the two amazing women who I spent most of the weekend with, it made me remember that home isn’t necessarily a place, its a state of mind and a feeling. This weekend I was at home 😊

6 thoughts on “Who says you can’t go home?

  1. Who doesn’t love a blog shout out? I won’t bug you about match — though it’s sure to make for a good post or two or ten. I’ll just be content with following your training and hoping it inspires me to get my rear in gear!

    • Wooohooo! And it got you to comment πŸ˜‰

      Here’s a Match story. A guy, with whom I never went out with because he called me twice in an afternoon when I didn’t answer the first time, just sent me another Match email. He either doesn’t remember, or he thinks I won’t.

Share your thoughts!

