Three on Thursday: Progress and Realizations

I feel like every few weeks between random conversations with colleagues, friends, or by reading others blog posts, I come to a realization of some sort. This has been one of those weeks.

Things that make me Happy
– My best running friend, Karen. I love that in just a few months of running together on weekends and pretty much daily text conversations, she’s become a fixture in my life. Without her, marathon training would not be happening, and with her it’s quite fun!
– The fact that there is a Twitter Coffee Crew (even if some members don’t drink coffee) that is trying to find a race to all run together because we are a fixture in most mornings. We’re taking suggestions. We’d like it to be ridiculous (such as a Ragnar Relay) and preferably in July or August. Go!
– That I have finally gotten to the point in my life where other people’s opinions mean very little to me. Don’t get me wrong, I love having people like me, I like feedback, and am constantly looking for ways to be a better me, but to quote an ad from Cigna’s Go You campaign:
20131015-220405.jpg
Image from underconsideration.com

Areas of Focus
– My life is a mess. Both literally and figuratively. I’ve developed this terrible habit of coming home, dropping my stuff on my extra couch, and never moving it. Like ever. (The use of there word “like” there was justified.) I need to focus on not being so lazy and keeping my stuff organized.
– Figuratively, I’ve been super focused on running for the last few months, I haven’t really tried to do anything else. I’m jealous of a colleague who has lived here as long as me, and he threw a dinner party for some of his neighbors on Sunday. I only know Al and Eileen, the retired couple next door, and a middle-aged, probably divorced man, named Paul who lives on the floor above me that keeps the same work hours of me. They seem nice, but probably not my ideal dinner party.
– Rework my eating again. I’m stuck in a spot on the scale and am not losing inches anymore either. If I eat less, I’m starving, and my ratio of macros seems right, so I can’t figure out what’s going wrong.

My Accomplishments
– Karen and I ran our longest distance ever in a race this weekend. 18 windy miles!

20131016-202547.jpg
– I officially have new responsibilities at work, and my new employees seem very excited about the change. We’ll see how long that lasts. I’m tough.
– I said yesterday I was going to do a random act of kindness after an awesome Tweet from Alex+Ani. As I was leaving Whole Foods last night, an extremely pregnant woman was pushing a cart pull of bags to her car. I offered to load her car up, and she was so happy to have help, I felt great. I need to do those kinds of things more often.
20131016-203216.jpg

What’s on your mind this week? Happy thoughts, areas of focus, accomplishments?
Thoughts on a Coffee Crew race?
Ideas on my eating? Anyone an RD?

9 thoughts on “Three on Thursday: Progress and Realizations

  1. I know how you feel with the dumping. I do that too. But then I get to the point where I can’t find what I’m looking for and then do a huge tidy up and put everything away. You’d be surprise how quickly you can get it done. Yesterday I spent and hour tidying up and worked a treat.
    As for the food fruit, you could try something (extreme?) like whole30.

  2. If you don’t already, start keeping track of your eating with something like MyFitnessPal. I’m not an RD, but you may be eating too little so your body is trying to hold in reserve all it can.
    DEFINITELY look into a Ragnar or other Relay – I love doing them. And if you find yourself in need of another runner, I’d be happy to fill in!

    • I love MyFitnessPal, but I haven’t had a metabolism breath test done event lately, and have definitely been more active for the last year, so I could be bordering on too long at too little.

      And thanks for the Ragnar advice! Any favorite locations?

  3. On my mind this week is my husband’s change of command in December and how I’m going to lose those last 10lbs that I’ve been trying to lose forever!

    I don’t care what we run as long as we run and are stuck with each other for at least a weekend.

    Are you lifting weights? or doing some kind of HIT training, maybe doing 2 a days to shock your metabolism? Have you measured yourself to see if your losing inches maybe your just gaining muscle right now. Keep up the good work love!

    • I definitely have the same thoughts on my last 10, although I would be really happy with about 5.

      And yes, I totally agree. We just need to run. Something. Together πŸ™‚

      The last 2 weeks I haven’t been doing HIIT, but before that, had been doing it 3-4 times a week on top of running. I’d been losing inches but its plateaued also.

      Thanks love, you too πŸ™‚

  4. You are constantly paying it forward and you never go unappreciated ! Yes, we need to decide on a race with the (non) coffee drinking crew! I think you have really made it in life when you can honestly say people’s opinions don’t matter to you. You embrace that!

    • You are so sweet πŸ™‚

      And it has taken me a long time, and there are some opinions that I still care about, but not to the point of changing myself. My Regional president knows that there is a pair of buildings in Philly I call the bear buildings because they are brown and have these things that look like ears. The best conversation to have with someone at that level? Eh, probably not. Does he like me more because of it, yep!

  5. I’ll come to your dinner party! πŸ˜‰

    Also, I love Alex+Ani – their tweets are great and very motivational. I just recently learned of the company and appreciate them. That was so kind of you to offer your help to the woman; I bet you totally made her day.

Share your thoughts!

