Super-Chocolate Vegan Protein Shake

I’m in the midst of my 7th month of training this year, because I ridiculously signed up for half-marathons every few months. If you’ve trained for a race, you know some runs are tougher for no real reason. Saturday’s final long-run before my next half was one of those days. After refueling, Epsom bathing, and a nap, I was still feeling completely drained. I decided I needed to bring in the big guns: a crazy protein shake. It definitely got me feeling a bit better, and gave me some much needed vitamins after 2 hours of a sunny, sweaty run.

Super-Chocolate Vegan Protein Shake
Prep Time: 5 minutes
Cook Time: 0 minutes
Serves 1 as a meal or recovery snack

Calories:280 kCal
Fat:6 g
Carbs:50 g
Protein: 18 g

Ingredients:
1 cup unsweetened chocolate almond milk (I use Almond Breeze by Blue Diamond)
1 scoop chocolate soy protein powder (I love the Whole Foods brand)
1 cup frozen pears
10 fresh cherries, pitted (frozen will work too, just be sure there is no added sugar)
1 cup baby spinach

1) Add all ingredients to blender, and blend until smooth. I like to put it in the freezer for 10 minutes to let it get really cold, and then enjoy, with a book and a bendy straw.

20130907-171937.jpg

3 thoughts on “Super-Chocolate Vegan Protein Shake

Share your thoughts!

