Working hard is hard work

I put off getting on Pinterest for a long time, because I wasn’t really sure what it would do that I couldn’t do on my own. This summer I decided it was the easiest way to track ideas for my new apartment, and that was the beginning of the end.

Yesterday I ran across something on Pinterest that got me thinking about how I prioritize my life.
20130828-205301.jpg

I’ve put years of effort – hard work, late nights, weekends – to get where I am professionally. I have done those things because like Thomas Jefferson said, hard work brings “luck”. I’ve spent countless hours counseling new hires, interns, and students at my alma mater about what it takes to be successful at my company, and while part of my success is due to being in the right place at the right time, when in reality, that luck was because I’d earned the right to be in the right place through years of hard work.

But I keep making goals with my fitness and weight, and putting in a pretty honest half-assed effort. I make excuses, I’ve been making terrible food choices, and just not working hard enough. And as one of my favorite trainers says:

20130828-210837.jpg

So I’m refocusing, rethinking how I’m prioritizing and dedicated to what I want in every aspect of my life. So I recently made some decisions, and am taking on a new challenge.

Back in July, I told you about the wonderful runWestin runConcierge finalists I met at Rock n’ Roll Chicago. One of those awesome finalists is none other than the great Bobbi McCormick from In Her Shoes, who is not only superwoman, but aims to make others superwoman too. And I want to be superwoman so I signed up for this:
20130828-213634.jpg

Starting September 1st, I’ll be getting whipped into shape by Bobbi from afar. She assures me others have done it while training for a race and survived, so I’m in. I’m going to kick my own butt with her help, plan out my meals so I can make good choices, and refocus on meeting my personal goals in the same way I do my professional goals.

I’m ready, I’m excited, and I’m stocked up on Advil and Epsom salt.

Do you treat your goals differently for professional or personal life?
Any advice on preparing for this intense undertaking?
What’s your favorite way to recover when you’ve worked hard?

Disclaimer: I am in no way associated with The Biggest Loser or NBC, but if you know where I can get my hands on Dolvett, I’m listening.
Also, I am paying for Bobbi’s Fall Shred on my own, and will provide updates on how its going, but all opinions, and outcomes, are my own.

2 thoughts on “Working hard is hard work

  1. Pingback: Fall Shred Week 1: “You’re… Even Brighter Lately” | Run Stretch Go

Share your thoughts!

