I’m back… With Three on Thursday

Thank you all for sticking with me after I was grumpy,

20130822-212712.jpg

Whiny,

20130822-212941.jpg

And just no fun.

But after a wonderful weekend getting my life reorganized, finding a great new yoga instructor, and feeling better about my priorities, I was also just exhausted. I have some theories on some food choices I’ve been making, which I’m testing out, and I am refocused on shutting down and sleeping earlier than seems normal for a 32 year old single woman.

I also had an amazing conversation with Lauren (@Creative_LG) last night that got me to thinking about what I love, what makes me happy, and if I’ve been so focused on tasks lately I’ve forgotten what drives me.

So I got my butt up and out of bed this morning determined to run hard, even though I hit snooze too much and I would be late to work (for the record, no one noticed I arrived an hour late). I felt amazing all day because of it, and decided:

“Everyone does those Five on Friday posts, but five is a lot, and Friday is already lovely, so lets do Three on Thursday”

So Three on Thursday kicks off, and the point is to focus on 3 things that make you happy, 3 areas of focus, and 3 accomplishments for the week. I hope it works the way I think it will, otherwise, back to boring.

Three things that Make me Happy
1) The little notes I’ve started leaving myself on my computer at work. Some days its a reminder of what workout I’m doing that night, or, like today, reminding myself that I’m awesome.

20130822-215431.jpg
2) My new rug. It’s just perfect and it makes me smile.

20130822-215601.jpg
3) Individual shoe boxes from Ikea. I bought a ton of them and now each set of shoes has its own little home.

Three Area of Focus
1) Being thankful. It’s easy to get bogged down in whatever is going on, and not stop and look around at what you’ve got. This week I will be more thankful for what I have.
2) Strength. Strength training is always the first thing I give up when I’m busy. I must get back to it if I want to hit my goals and not get injured.
3) Taking time. I’m always in a rush, or feel like I should be. It’s okay to be late sometimes, or to not plan and just live. And when life gets overwhelming, it’s okay to step back and think before acting.

Three Accomplishments
1) I had my first big meeting at the new job this week, and it went fabulously. It also reminded me of what really makes me happy work-wise.
2) I got new pillows. My pillows needed replacement, and I ordered new ones. Try arrived today, and I’m pumped to try them out.
3) I signed up for something that will help me stay on track, more to come, but I recognized an issue and took action!

What is something that makes you happy?
What’s an area you need to put some focus on in your life?
What’s something you accomplished this week?

8 thoughts on “I’m back… With Three on Thursday

  1. Can I just say……………. I love that rug. I’m sure I didn’t shock you with that but for real, adorable.
    Secondly, I can’t wait to hear what you signed up for!! πŸ™‚

    • Not surprised at all πŸ™‚ but thanks! It was fate that I found it (I tried to order a different one but it was out of stock), and couldn’t be happier with it.

  2. yay for you! yay for a beautiful rug and can’t wait to hear what the signing up for is!!
    1. my family makes me happy, but so does kashi cookies with pb
    2. I need to focus more on nailing my certifications and getting PFG up and running.
    3. this week I held my first PFG class (but you already knew this)
    have a great weekend!

    • Your family makes me happy too… But not in a scary way (no, I will not show up on your doorstep trying to move in) but you all are just adorable.

      And yay for PFG! I’m super excited for you, and jealous because you would be so much fun to have as a motivator πŸ™‚

  3. Fun idea! πŸ™‚ Keep it up!!

    1. Something that makes me happy: My little family, hubby and the 4 kitties (yes, we are those people!).

    2. Area I need to put some focus on in my life: Just one? I would say either my diet (which is crazy out of whack) or my career. Career only being within the last week or two though, so I guess diet.

    3. Something I accomplished this week: Got my first run in 2 months in! And I hit the gym again. Baby steps….

Share your thoughts!

