Deflating defeat and August Goals

It’s the end of the month, which means its time to take a quick look back, and set intentions for the next month.

July was a crazy month.

I became a temporary, permanent resident of Philadelphia.

20130731-195852.jpg
I enjoyed some delicious, but not the healthiest, meals.

20130731-200238.jpg
I finished my 6th half marathon in some crazy heat & humidity, and still hit one of my 3-tiered goals for the race.

20130731-200423.jpg
I found myself, even though I hadn’t realized I’d been lost.

20130731-200600.jpg

I consider that a pretty successful month!

But in the last 10 days post-race, I haven’t been great with my training. I’m feeling a little deflated because I’ve only run 3 times since the race, and am having a hard time getting motivated to get moving every day. I’ve been tight, exhausted, and this week, battling some serious allergy issues that are making me feel like I have the flu. Thankfully, I see my new allergist tomorrow, and should be able to start getting it under control again, and get back to pushing myself with my training.

All this is important because its a new month, and it brings new goals. Also, I’ve decided the word of the month for August is Activity. Being active in my new surroundings, actively training, and actively being social again.

20130731-205914.jpg
So here are the goals:

August Yoga Challenge: I did this earlier this year, and I felt so great, and got a friend involved in it too. He re-challenged me for August, and knowing how important its going to be to stay loose and get strong with 2 more races this fall, I immediately said yes. So, the goal is to do at least 15 minutes of yoga a day. It doesn’t have to be a class, but just pulling out the mat and focusing on my breath and my poses for at least 15 minutes each day.

Hit all of my training miles: they can be moved to different days, switched up a little, or split into 2 sessions if necessary, but no missing miles this month. Less than 50 days until my next half, mileage is key.

Get in cross-training: even if its 15 minutes of HIIT, sets of squats and lunges, or getting my Nike Training Club or workouts at the gym in, strength & adding to my endurance is a focus.

Stick to healthy food choices: perfection isn’t the goal here, but a minimum of 80/20 good choices to bad choices. I gained more weight last month than I should have, and my body can feel it. Sticking to my workouts isn’t enough, I need to make healthy food choices.

Get out in the community: whether its going to a running group, attending a Group Fitness class, or going to a happy hour, I need to engage with my new city. I want to meet people, and the only way to do that, is to actually go places to meet people. I will go to a minimum of 1 thing per week.

And finally, get settled: I get my keys this weekend, and my stuff next week. I have lived without most of my things (including a lot to clothes, shoes, and even bedding, let alone my bed or kitchen) for 8 months. I’m seriously dreaming about the things I will get back: my big Reidl wine glasses, my Cuisinart mini chopper, my shoes, my closet full of beautiful shoes, and my blender. I look forward to settling into my own kitchen, bedroom, and living room. Drinking coffee on my new balcony, and curling up on my own couch seems like just about the best weekend ever to me right now.

So there you have it. Activity August starts tomorrow!

What’s your biggest goal for August?
How do you deal with loss of motivation when you’re training?
If you had to live without your stuff for an extended period, what would you be most excited about getting back?

12 thoughts on “Deflating defeat and August Goals

  1. I’m so excited for everything you have going on. I know you’re pumped to get out there with the great running community PA has to offer. πŸ™‚ Keep rockin’ those rockin’ races πŸ˜‰

  2. My biggest goal for August would be to complete the whole30 challenge.
    I’m on day 2, so far so good. I still have to get breakfast down pat. I’m use to having a grain free porridge, but one one I have has whey in it, which i can’t use in my whole30 challenge, so I have to find an alternative. I think it’s going to take a while to find it. But I will.
    So that’s my diet goal.
    Fitness goal, don’t really have one, but I have picked up the weights again, and I’m enjoying that.
    Btw love the skirt, that green looks really good on you.

    • Oooh can’t wait to hear how Whole 30 goes. I hear great things, but I’m not sure I could handle it.

      I need to get back to weights, you feel so strong so quickly!

      Great goals πŸ™‚

  3. Don’t beat yourself about not running so much after your race, my coach says you should always take 1day per mile you raced off. So after my half I took 2wks off from running and did xt training instead. It was hard but If you wanna come back strong and injury free those active rest days are important.

  4. Great goals for August! I sometimes have trouble in the middle of marathon training when you are tired all the time and the race (and goal time) seem far away. It always helps me to think of how happy I will be at the finish knowing I trained as hard as I could. I thinking running a new city is a great way to explore it! Have fun!

  5. Great goals for August! I sometimes have trouble in the middle of marathon training when you are tired all the time and the race (and goal time) seem far away. It always helps me to think of how happy I will be at the finish knowing I trained as hard as I could. I thinking running a new city is a great way to explore it! Have fun!

    • Exactly! I can’t expect to meet people if I’m just sitting at home πŸ™‚ although my apt is supposed to have a fun lounge area and 2 rooftop terraces 😎

  6. Yay for Activity in August! Those are great goals I’m with you on hitting the training miles. I love how you do yoga at home. This seems silly but I usually never do it outside of class. For a long time I felt like I couldn’t “do it” without an instructor. I have an extra mat in my car and this definitely inspired me to bring it out and use it even for 15 minutes in the morning (pre coffee of course).
    One of my goals for August is branching out of my cross training comfort zone…trying a new class or two aside from yoga. Another goal is to PLANK! Starting today, I’m going to plank-a-day πŸ™‚

    • Yay for new things.

      I was the same way for a long time, but I found some sequences I loved, and doing them to either start my morning, after my run, or a bedtime sequence felt really good. It’s definitely not as intense, but its better than nothing πŸ™‚ there are some good classes on Hulu and You Tube, also.

      I used to love spinning and boot camp type classes, but haven’t done them in a while. Having something to keep me excited and meet new people seems like a win win.

Share your thoughts!

