T- Minus 6 days and also, I’m a #RunChat #Runbassador

It’s full on taper time.

20130716-182059.jpg
Image from Literature and Lobster

In 6 short days, I’m running my 6th half-marathon in Chicago. It took me a few days to understand what was going on with my sleeping patterns this week. I’ve been waking up several times a night, and just not sleeping well. And then it hit me:

20130716-183415.jpg

I’ve never trained hard enough to do it, and every race since my first (still my PR), I’ve given myself an out or an excuse why I couldn’t, or wouldn’t.

This time it was different. I trained, hard. I didn’t skip runs, I did speed work, I did yoga and was almost consistent with strength training (this one I still need to work on), I even did the Summer Run Streak and my Road Trip Rundraiser on top of my training calendar. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, I have no reason not to PR, by a lot.

But I’m breaking down my goal into 3 parts so that I don’t walk away upset if something doesn’t go completely right:

20130716-184713.jpg

So there it is! My goals are out there, and you can bet I will be letting you know one way or the other! Until then, my taper is in full swing, which means I feel exceptionally short because I’m only wearing flats to work, I’m drinking more water and Nuun than I’m doing anything else, and I’m stressing about packing.

To top it all off, I got a happy envelope in the mail yesterday:

20130716-203455.jpg
I could not be more excited to wear and share those tattoos! #RunChat brought me to the running community and I’m excited to share the good word 😊

So if you’re reading this, and you’re running in Chicago this weekend, let me know, I will have tattoos with me to share the love!

What are some of the things you do during the week leading up to a race?
What’s your next goal?
What can I not miss while I’m in Chicago?

11 thoughts on “T- Minus 6 days and also, I’m a #RunChat #Runbassador

  1. Pingback: I am a #runchat Runbassador | Colorful Emily

  2. Once your dreams are on paper (or in this case on blog), they don’t become wishes anymore they become goals.
    once you announce those goals to the world you then become accountable. I love that. There is nothing like the expectations of others to check in on you to see how you are going. And guess what, i’ll be checking in on you. I know you will totally smash your goal girl.
    Exciting stuff about being a #runchat ambassador, yay for you.

    As for chicago i haven’t been there in over 10 years, so I can’t help you there.

  3. Great goals girl!!! You can do it!! And congrats on being a #runchat ambassador. You are badass and you will kick this races ass!!

  4. Ah can’t wait to hear about it.. great goals- you’re going to really surprise yourself! Are you meeting Karen out there? You two can’t get away from each other πŸ˜‰
    emma @ a mom runs this town

    • Thank you! I’m really excited.

      And no 😦 Karen leaves before I get there. Her fiancé was there for work so she got a little vacation out of it!

Share your thoughts!

