Six State Challenge to Honor My Nampie & a Giveaway

A few weeks ago I started wishing I had done fundraising for my next half-marathon because I’ll be running it on the day my Nampie (grandfather) passed away 2 years ago from Lymphoma. I don’t think he ever ran, but I fondly remember our matching velour jogging suits in the 80’s.

I love the idea of running for something bigger, but with a strange travel schedule find it tough to be part of big fundraising/training groups. My friend Emma over at A Mom Runs this Town dedicates her Saturday posts to raising awareness or actually fundraising for different charities, and yet she doesn’t do it through any official capacity.

On Thursday, I begin my 15 hour drive from Birmingham to Philadelphia for part one of my move. I am doing the drive alone, so I’m breaking it up over 4 days (in reality 3 but I can’t get into my temporary housing until Sunday) to make it manageable in case I need to stop often to keep myself alert and pumped up. You know what that means:

Car Dance Party Moscow from FUDDYTV on Vimeo.

Who doesn’t love a good car dance party? But the other thing it means is that I will be driving through 6 states for nearly 15 hours, and I’m a runner, I can’t sit still that long!

And so the brilliant idea came together:

20130624-184738.jpg
Image from connectioncafe.com

I’m going to run in every state I drive in to get from Birmingham to Philly, 6 states, and keep my formal training schedule on to of it, to run a total of 20 miles. And my goal will be to raise $500 ($25 per mile) for The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.

For a little extra encouragement, I’m also doing a a Rafflecopter giveaway

It’s a bit unconventional, but stick with me:

20130624-225645.jpg
In addition to the normal Tweet, follow and comment, options, you can win more entries by donating to The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (5 entries per $10 donation) and emailing me proof (runstretchgo@gmail.com), or by blogging my post to spread the word (5 entries per reblog, just make sure you link to me or let me know!).

To kick off, I’m donating $50, so I only need $450 more. Help a great cause, and see my progress through the silly pictures I’ll take along the way with updates on what I’ve raised.

20130624-230540.jpg Have you ever run for charity?
What prompted you to do so?
What else should I do to occupy myself during my drive?

30 thoughts on “Six State Challenge to Honor My Nampie & a Giveaway

  1. Pingback: 7 state, 21 mile Challenge: The Finale | Run Stretch Go

  2. Awesome idea – I work on an oncology unit and we support our patients by doing an annual fun run to raise money for The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society – I hope you raise a bunch!

  3. I’m a nurse and when I first started I worked on an oncology unit. I saw many people succumb to cancer including leukemia. Associations that aide research etc need all the support they can get!

    • Thanks so much Jen! You are simply a saint for helping cancer patients day in and day out. So thank YOU for doing what you do every day.

  4. Pingback: Training Update and New Races! | a mom runs this town

  5. Pingback: Support Saturday NEW Challenge | a mom runs this town

  6. Pingback: 6 State, 20 mile Challenge: Day 3 – Phrase of the day: What the…? | Run Stretch Go

  7. Pingback: 6 state, 20 mile Challenge: Day 2 | Run Stretch Go

  8. Pingback: 6 State, 20 Mile Rundraiser: Day 1 | Run Stretch Go

  9. I don’t know if my comment showed up… but I said I go on vacation and I end up missing this!! Great idea! I’ll include you in my Support Saturday post!
    emma @ a mom runs this town

    • Thanks love! And I think being the wife of an Ironman is pretty much like being an Ironman yourself. Gentry has no choice but to be Super Girl 🙂

    • 😦 I just want to hug you right now, so imagine a really big virtual hug and we’ll make it real in November. Thinking of you and B, and your friend’s family. 💜

    • What an amazing job! It is so sad to think about how disproportionate the child to adult ratio is, because they have so much left to experience in life.

      Thankfully my Grandfather was in his 80’s and had experienced so much in life, even though it was tough for us to say goodbye.

  10. omg that video was a cracker.
    I love the idea of you running in every state, that’s awesome. Good luck with your fundraising or should we say RunDraising!
    I have run for charity, but later this year I plan on doing a running fundraiser for my daughters school. that should be interesting.
    As for the long drive. Audio books! or podcasts.

  11. What a great idea! I used to work for LLS (at the time Southern New Jersey Chapter, then for the Philadelphia area Division, but neither exists anymore) and I know they will love your donation! What a creative way to raise money!

    Drive safe! If you come anywhere close to Natural Bridge, VA I’d say take a quick stop to stretch your legs and check out the path. It’s really pretty place to walk around.

Share your thoughts!

