I’m a nerd for NRD

While I’ve run for several years, this was the first time I ran for National Running Day. I was really pumped about it, to the point that if I hadn’t been doing a tempo run and on the verge of falling over, I wanted to shout “happy national running day” to everyone I passed on the trail. That is the moment when I think I officially became a Runnerd.

20130606-212319.jpg
Image from CafePress.com

To me, this year, National Running Day was so much more than just getting out for a run. It was a celebration of how far I’ve come and how running has become part of my life. Although there are days I just don’t want to start, once I do I remember why I do it.

20130608-210948.jpg
I started running to lose weight, and that’s definitely still a goal, but now I run because it makes me happy. It makes me happy because I have stopped (ok, sometimes I still do, but notes often) comparing myself to the fast, skinny girls; I’ve stopped feeling like I can’t stick to training because I no longer have someone else telling me I can’t or won’t.

20130608-214131.jpg
Image from GoErieBlogs.com

I’d also like to rename National Running Day, and call it “Thanksgiving”. I know, we already have one of those, but I have so many things to be thankful for right now, and so any of them are running related.

1) #RunChat and #HealthyWayMag chats! They are so motivating and inspiring. I learn so much from the amazing people involved, and the great sponsors.
2) I’m getting stronger and faster. I’m amazing myself regularly, making me realize I can do anything if I put effort in and really focus on it.
3) My blog and my blog readers. This has given me an outlet and support system I didn’t even know existed, but now couldn’t imagine my life without it.
4) New running friends I’ve never even met, but feel like I’ve known forever. The amazing friends who are there to provide motivation, congratulations, or lend a virtual had to pick you owner you’re down. There are so many people I am so excited to meet or run with this year. I am so blessed to have you in my life, so thank you.

20130608-220524.jpg

13 thoughts on “I’m a nerd for NRD

  1. I always miss out on #runchat, but today i got to participate in the #healthywaymag chat and it was great fun.
    When I run in a fun run and I see a camera, I always smile for them, makes it so much more fun and memorable. Yeah I get sometimes you are in the zone, but we runners tend to pull some really ugly faces… running isn’t ugly though. so Love the smiles.

    • I’m so glad you go to do the #HealthyWayMag chat. They’re always a lot of fun, and less hectic than the #runchat ones.

      I’m not good at remembering to smile at races, unless I am having a lot of fun. Sometimes all it takes is the right song to come on!

  2. This is lovely, and so true! I love how running has really benefitted me past what I initially sought out as a purely ‘physical’ hobby to do. Also with you on the amazing world that is fellow running bloggers & how I’ve been lucky to have met some of them too! PS For a second I thought the bottom right photo of your running collage was a result of a running injury, but then I realised it was just the color run thankfully πŸ˜‰

    • Oh I never thought about what it must look like if you didn’t have the context for that pic. Definitely just covered in color!

      And glad you enjoyed the post πŸ™‚

  3. I love the idea that Running Day = Thanksgiving! often we complain about running, but it’s taught us so much!
    emma @ a mom runs this town

    • So true! Especially seeing so many runner friends dealing with injuries right now, I do my best to stay positive and be thankful for every mile πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts!

