Drumroll please…

About a month ago, I started giving you all hints about some big news in my life.

20130602-190937.jpg
It took a little longer to get everything in order than I thought, so my hints were less than thrilling. But, the time has come: tomorrow morning, at 8 am

20130602-192336.jpg
That was just for you Nicole 🙂

Just kidding, but tomorrow morning I start a new chapter in my life. After being in a leadership training program for the last 6 months in Birmingham, I got offered a big promotion (like I’ve worked my @$$ off for the last 4 years to get offered a job at this level). And this promotion means I’ll finally find out if

20130602-193238.jpg
Image from egrift.com

Yes, I got a big promotion and I get to move to Philly!


20130602-194228.jpg

I technically start my new job tomorrow, and it’s completely different than anything I’ve ever done before. I’m stretching myself outside of my comfort zone professionally, and moving to yet another new city. Until I find a place to live, I’ll be flying back and forth to Birmingham on weekends, and staying in a hotel in Philly on weekdays.

As much as I love hotel points, I have an entire life in storage in Connecticut, and I would really like to get settled and start my next chapter, for real. So as soon as I landed in Philly this afternoon, I went to see 4 apartments, and I am seeing as many as possible on Tuesday so that I can hopefully have a lease signed by Wednesday.

So, if I had a prize, the prize would have gone to Emma at A Mom Runs this Town for guessing correctly several weeks ago.

Here are 5 reasons I am super pumped about this news:
1) This is a running city. There are trails, and routes, and running groups, and races, and I cannot wait to be prt of it. Unfortunately I didn’t run tonight like I’d planned. Walking around for hours in the heat while under-rested and dehydrated killed me. I decided it was more important to get to bed early tonight and give my body a little rest. But this week, I’ll be logging lots of miles!
2) I’m back in PA! I understand the rivalry with Pittsburgh, but I am just excited to be back to the last state I really called home. And I’m close to lots of grad school classmates and friends, which is a plus.
3) It’s a big city. I haven’t lived in a BIG city in almost 8 years, when I lived in DC. I’m excited to be back in a place where I’m not one of only a few transplants. And, the shopping is fabulous.
4) I get to start fresh. I’ve been through a lot in the last 6 months, and am ready to kick-start my life back into gear.
5) I don’t have to drive everyday. I cannot explain how happy I am to be in a place where I can use public transportation or walk easily to almost everything. Don’t get me wrong, my little convertible is coming with me, but he’ll get to rest more.

So there it is! I totally over-hyped it, but its huge to me. When I moved to Birmingham 6 months ago, I knew I’d be moving again, but I didn’t know where, and I could not be more happy about it.

Now, here’s to hoping I find a place to live, quickly!

What was the last big change that happened to your life?
What has been the favorite place you’ve lived?
What would you do if you got to start fresh?

34 thoughts on “Drumroll please…

  1. Congrats!!! Thats going to be so great, my last major change was last july when I moved to LA, I feel like I need to shake things up again but definitely not another major move just yet.

    • Thanks! That’s right and you moved from the easy coast right?! That is big.

      Hair color and cuts usually take me a long way. I’m hoping my next big thing once I get settled is a dog 🙂

      • Reading my mind! Ive been debating lightening up the hair a bit and I want a dog so, so badly unfortunately my land lord disagrees.

      • Yay on hair, boo on landlord 😦 its part of my house hunt criteria, but doesn’t beat washer/dryer in unit!

  2. This is awesome news!!! I’m only a little sad that you won’t become a robot, but I know the feeling of being unsettled all too well as we are in transitional times ourselves. A great new job and getting to plan your life are some of the best things ever, enjoy!! Congratulations to you!

  3. Congratulations on the new job- I have a pretty long list of ‘places I’ve lived’ myself (including Birmingham ) but Key Largo will always be my favorite 10+ years in margaritaville…

  4. Congratulations again on the huge promotion and exciting move 🙂 I can’t wait to hear more about how it goes as you get settled! ❤

      • So, I didn’t see anything funny, although the size of some of them could make me laugh for hours. I did see a woman walking around topless with flower pasties on her nipples though. Too shocked to get a pic though.

  5. YAY!!! I WON and you got a PROMOTION! Congrats Cyanne!! That’s amazing. Love new chapters starting in our lives and love when I see hard work pay off. You’re going to find it’s very sunny in Philly!
    emma @ a mom runs this town

  6. Nice Stuff. congrats on the promotion, but the sounds of it you totally deserved it.

    And in response to your questions.
    What was the last big change that happened to your life?
    Was moving to the city to the country 10 days after giving birth to my daughter (who is btw 6.5 years old now). Wow what a change, but best decision ever.
    What has been the favorite place you’ve lived?
    Where I am now .Why? Well I grew up in country towns, I like the people here and just every thing about it.
    Don’t get me wrong I do enjoy going to the city and visiting my family, but there is nothing like coming back home.
    What would you do if you got to start fresh?
    It’s a clean start, a great way to start over and just do things different. Do it the way you want to do it.

    • That is a big change! But it sounds like it was the perfect change. I grew up in a really small town, and although I hated it growing up, it was a great way to do so.

  7. Congrats!! How exciting! Starting a new adventure in your life! My last big change would have been being pregnant and then giving birth to my son. My world was turned upside down, but in the best way possible!!

    • Thank you!

      And I don’t have any children, but my brother has 4 (with a 5th on the way) and each one changes their lives in a positive way 🙂 His oldest is 12 now, and they grow up fast!

  8. Rock on! I live right outside of Philly and you’re right, it’s a fantastic running city (and city in general!). 🙂

      • If you’re looking to come to the dark side (aka – Jersey!), you could do the Ben Franklin Bridge. Cooper River Park has a fantastic loop that I do with my running group. Those are both relatively close to Philly.

        My FAVORITE place to run is the boardwalk – AC is just about an hour drive from Philly but SO worth it.

        Welcome to the area! xo

  9. Woo hoo! Congratulations on the promotion, that’s an amazing feeling! Philadelphia is a great city! I’ve spent so much time there it’s one of my favorites. Welcome to the area 🙂
    Karen @ cinderella_runs

Share your thoughts!

