I’m going streaking! And there will be pictures

Haha, you totally thought you were getting something else in this post, didn’t you?! Admit it. It’s okay πŸ˜‰

But in all seriousness, I am attempting my first Runner’s World Summer Run Streak. 20130527-150434.jpg

Karen, over at Cinderella’s Running Shoes started a Challenge Loop so we can stay on track and motivate each other. I’m all about motivation, remember my Jillian Michaels impression during my last half?

I was worried about trying it at first because I’m 8 weeks out from the Rock and Roll Chicago Half and really want to try for a PR, so I’m upping my training from my last 5. By upping I mean more weekly mileage, actually doing my cross-training, and speed work.

20130527-151926.jpg Image from Miles with Style

I know, right?

But the more I thought about it, the more i realized, if anything, this will force me to keep up with my training schedule. It’s easier to make sure you get a strength workout in if you get dressed to go run a mile. There will definitely be days that its a walk instead of a run, but at least I’ll still have a couple of weeks post Streak before the half to really taper.

So kids, we’re going streaking! Who’s with me? I don’t want to be left all by myself like my friend Will.

20130527-153214.jpg

Have you done a run streak before?
Are you training for anything right now?
Do you love Will Ferrell movies?

And another hint for you lovely people still playing along at home:

20130527-153659.jpg

6 thoughts on “I’m going streaking! And there will be pictures

  1. Pingback: You found me how? Search term blog linkup and a Giveaway | Run Stretch Go

  2. Haha when I first saw this I definitely thought you meant the other kind of streaking! It definitely sounds like a good idea, and also for beginners too as it’s manageable. I would definitely join if I wasn’t about to embark on a strength training journey (yes, I’ve been persuaded over to the dark side πŸ˜‰ ! )

    • Haha nice! I’ve been plotting this post and then it was solidified by a comment from a Twitter friend πŸ™‚

      Strength isn’t the dark side at all! It’s important. I will not hold it against you!

Share your thoughts!

