Time flies! And other things old people like me say

Ten years ago I graduated from college. Wait, what?!

20130518-124512.jpg

Here’s a little reminder of what life was like back then:

20130518-133738.jpg
Napster had been sued by major record labels, shut down, and attempted to return as a legitimate site. Strangely, no one wanted to pay them for music when they were used to getting it for free.

20130518-133844.jpg
Apple launches iTunes, and people pay for 10 million songs in the first 4 months

20130518-134043.jpg
French Fries were renamed Freedom Fries

20130518-134140.jpg
Arnold Schwarzenegger was elected Governor of California

20130518-134245.jpg
Finding Nemo hit theaters

20130518-134405.jpg
Mister Rogers died, his neighborhood was never the same

20130518-134817.jpg
Justin Timberlake was just starting his solo career, and everyone wanted to Cry me a River

20130518-134959.jpg
A major blackout affected cities like New York

20130518-135323.jpg
20130518-135328.jpg
Florida has a good year in professional sports: The Bucs won the Super Bowl and the Marlins the World Series

My first thought when the reminders started on Facebook earlier this week was

20130518-124702.jpg
But over the last couple of days I’ve changed my tune. I’ve accomplished a ton in the last 10 years.

In the last 10 years:
– I’ve moved 7 times, and lived in 5 states (TN, VA, PA, CT, AL)

– Received 2 Masters’ degrees (MBA & MS in Health Care Management)

– Published more than 30 articles (no, not my blog)

– Completed 5 half-marathons (Pittsburgh 2009 & 2010, Hartford ING 2010, WDW 2012, Rock n Roll Nashville 2013)

– Worked for 4 companies/organizations, and have had 9 different titles

– Lost all 4 grandparents and gained 3 nieces and a nephew

– Thrown at least 40 theme or costume parties. One of my favs: Shoot Cupid, the annual Valentin’s shot party, which we stopped 5 years ago when we could no longer handle doing shots

– I’ve been through 8 cell phones, 3 laptops, 4 alarm clocks, and 2 cars

– I’ve learned to love lettuce, that I’m severely lactose intolerant (except Greek yogurt, and goat/sheep cheese), that I can’t live without coffee, and my preferred drink is always champagne

– I’ve taken risks, reaped rewards, and learned from my mistakes

– I’ve had points where I’ve cried more than I’ve laughed, and laughed more than I’ve cried

– I learned to love yoga and became a runner

And in the last 3 months, I’ve become a blogger. It’s been a fun addition to my life, and I always look forward to reading comments, and the hilarious Twitter chats often make my day.

It’s been an amazing 10 years, and I look forward to what the next 10 bring!

What do you remember from your graduation year?
What’s one of the favorite things you’ve done in the last 10 years?
When was the last time you went to a costume/theme party? And what did you wear?

Another hint for my Big News:

20130518-141641.jpg

12 thoughts on “Time flies! And other things old people like me say

  1. Pingback: You found me how? Search term blog linkup and a Giveaway | Run Stretch Go

  2. This year marks ten years since I graduated high school so I’ve been having some of the same “remember when” thoughts! I remember napster (ahhh what would we do without itunes?!) and Finding Nemo…
    You have accomplished amazing things in ten years! I’m sure the future has some wonderful things in store for you!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It was kind of fun to look back, although there was a ton of political stuff happening which I shy away from discussing, at least here. I’m not here to fight about politics I’m here to run or at least talk about it!

  3. This is great! I just hit my one year mark and at first I couldnt believe it but then I was like, no props to you. One year out, I’ve moved across the country, gone through several jobs and finally found one that I like, and I’m starting to figure a few things out.
    Congrats on all the incredible things youve done!

    • Congratulations! You are in such a fun time of your life (and now I’m officially old, who says that?) so enjoy every minute of it. It took me s little over a year to figure out what I wanted to do, and ended up falling into my career kind of my accident. Strangely, its taken me much longer to find my personal self.

  4. We definitely graduated at the same time. I still remember my mom calling to make sure I wasn’t using Napster. And I still love the JT to this day. Remember IMing??? Loved this post!

    • Oh you weren’t cool if you weren’t IMig like 8 people at once!

      I want to go see JT in concert this summer so badly! Love him ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Memories… lol I remember Napster in my college days. This list makes me feel old. And you have done a lot of wonderful things the last 10 years! Here’s to many many more!

    • I had a great collection of Naptser music. And then the geniuses at my college had created this public folder system that everyone used instead when Napster was shut down. Man, the things college students won’t do to not pay for something.

      And I know, right, I still feel old. But hilarious some of the things back then. I don’t remember when Freedom Fries switched back. Are there places in Texas that still use it?

Share your thoughts!

