Healthy Recipe: Turkey and Veggie Mini Meatloaves

After the second or third time in a week getting lightheaded and dizzy combined with exhaustion, a few lovely running friends suggested I might be anemic. I don’t eat much meat, and have been skipping my usual mixed green salads at lunch recently, so this was probably spot on. *Disclaimer: None of us are doctors, and I did not consult a physician, which is why I did not add iron supplements to my diet*

So, this afternoon I came home to make an iron filled dinner. I roasted veggies, primarily broccoli & Brussels sprouts, heated up some kidney beans, and defrosted a mini turkey meatloaf. I loaded it up with salsa, a little cheese, and a 100 calorie Wholly Guacamole packet.

Turkey & Veggie Mini Meatloaves
Makes 6 mini loaves
Calories: 177 kCal
Fat: 2.5 g
Carbs: 13 g
Protein: 22.5 g

20130513-185141.jpg
Ingredients

1 lb ground turkey
1/2 cup organic honey mustard
1/4 cup rice mozzarella
3 tsps garlic, minced
1/4 cup, dry, yields oatmeal
1/2 cup egg whites
1 cup chopped broccoli
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 1/2 cups chopped zucchini
1 1/2 cups cubed butternut squash
1 cup chopped sweet red pepper

Directions

1) Heat oven to 350 degrees.

2) Mix all ingredients together. Add salt & pepper to season.

3) Cup into balls and put into mini loaf pans. Put into oven, cook 30-40 minutes or until browned

15 thoughts on “Healthy Recipe: Turkey and Veggie Mini Meatloaves

    • I have always hated meatloaf, but had some ground turkey in the freezer and wanted something I could freeze. A lot of meatloaf recipes use bread, I adore oatmeal. I will put it in just about anything! The only thing I didn’t add in the recipe is spices. I used Mrs. Dash herb and garlic and some salt and pepper, but it could be really good with curry or cumin also!

Share your thoughts!

