Warning: Running is an Expensive Habit

Everyone always says running is any easy, cheap way to stay fit. All you need is a pair of running shoes, right?

In theory, that is correct. But after a little while, you want to look cute while you’re running, so you buy some new running clothes. Like this adorable Lululemon Pace Setter Skirt:<a href="http://

20130423-223705.jpg
And then you learn about really good socks, so you buy some of those. And those are too squishy, so you try another brand, and those are great.

20130423-224214.jpg Image from TeamEstrogen.com

You begin running more, because you love how you feel when you’re running. And then you sign up for a race. And then another. And before you know it, you’re on a plane to a racecation. My first was going back to Pittsburgh for my 2nd half-marathon, which also provided me with my favorite race shirt.

20130423-222703.jpg
This is really starting to add up, isn’t it? But then less obvious things cost money. You start losing weight, and your body changes with every few pounds. Before you know it, you need new clothes because your jeans come off without unbuttoning them. And then a few more pounds come off, and none of your work pants fit, and your skirts are perilously loose.

Now you’re really handing over you’re paycheck to running. But if you’re like me, you’re smiling your face off! You are really happy because you love running, your running community, and the fact that none of your clothes fit, anymore.

20130423-223123.jpg
In all seriousness, I love any excuse to shop, so running can really be a fairly reasonably priced habit, but the happiness and weight loss piece is fairly inevitable if you ramp up your mileage and are eating healthy to power those runs.

What is your favorite item of running clothing?
What’s your favorite or first racecation?
What do you do when none of your pants fit?

26 thoughts on “Warning: Running is an Expensive Habit

  1. In 16 days a roadrunner sports opens up across the street from my office. I know its in 16 days because I am counting down to the day that my savings account somehow disappears but magically I’ll have so much new running stuff…

    • Hahaha I love it! I would be the exact same way. I travel a lot for work and found that the Fleet Feet in Nashville is much better than the one here. This is bad because it means I’ll spend money when I’m there, but good because I might try to run some of their evening group runs πŸ™‚

  2. I’m about to start running – just need to buy the kit first. On the verge of being jobless so having to wait until my money situation is more secure. In the mean time I’m trying to remain quiet about how much it could cost to start running so my Husband doesn’t have a breakdown….. eek! He seems on board with the shoes and a garmin running watch though and they seem the most expensive things….. I don’t think he realises how important a sports bra will be though….

    • You can definitely start for much less than I’m spending! Target carries some great workout clothes that are fairly inexpensive. The Champion compression sports bras are my favorite.

      Good luck with getting started. Are you using a plan? The Couch to 5K is really good. There is an app, but you can also find the program just by googling it!

      • Alas no Target in the UK – it makes me sob to sleep nightly. It seems like such an amazing shop. I can’t believe I’ve missed both Missoni and Orla Kiely ranges for Target. Sigh. I’ll surely look into the Champion one though. I need something with support but that doesn’t squash down what little God gave me πŸ˜€

        I’ve got no plan at the moment because I have no idea how fit I really am. I work in retail on my feet all day so starting with walking seems a little too slow for me (which from what I’m told is where the Couch to 5K starts?) but I know I’ll need to start slow. In my mind running a 5K is easy – I know I’m deluded!

  3. Hehe this is so true! I’m still at the beginners’ stages of the full on running spending frenzy but have already splashed out on a pair of saucony trainers, nike running tights, and 2 races in the space of 1 month. And now I wonder why I can only drink tea when meeting friends for dinner one week before payday πŸ˜‰

  4. Yes!!! I love that skirt btw, so cute! I love to buy running tops. All different styles and colors. And I hear you on the clothes – same problem, not that I’m complaining!

  5. When I started to run I did it in old shoes and clothes. Now I spend almost a grand every year on clothes and shoes alone not counting races.
    Even that is with only 1 travel race a year. If I did more – broke. I need a rundaddy, like a sugardaddy, but better!

    • I definitely have two of the Pace Setters. Dark blue with stripes on the back, and just bought the light blue to wear for my race this weekend. I’m obsessed.

      I haven’t tried their sports bras yet, but will check them out. Thanks for the tip!

  6. I cut costs by buying as much of my running clothes from Target as I can. I use money from rebates, cash back on my credit card, etc. as my “fun money” for running purchases. And thankfully we have a great resale shop nearby to sell my big clothes to … and then buy new smaller ones there too!

    • I actually love a lot of the stuff at Target! I prefer their sports bras, and have several pair of capris. They are cute, functional, and so much cheaper!

      I also used to have a great place to sell old stuff, but don’t know if there’s one in my new city. I’ll need to look into it πŸ™‚

  7. I always laugh when they say running is inexpensive! Favourite gear: all my lulu. Favourite race cation: prob Goofy and Vegas. When pants don’t fit I buy new ones but I tend to spend less on my real clothes since my run clothes make up more of my wardrobe at this point!

    • Between Lulu, Lucy, and Athleta my workout wardrobe is fashionable. I like to look good when I’m sweaty πŸ™‚

      Did you run the night race in Vegas? It seems like it would be awesome, except that its so late.

  8. I know running can add up, if you want all the newest stuff and run in races. I would rather spend hundreds of dollars on running related stuff then on alcohol/cigerattes/drugs etc. It is an addiction, but I believe it is one of the healthiest ones out there. I would love to buy some of lululemon’s apperal. maybe some day πŸ™‚

    • It’s a great way to reward yourself! And I totally agree that I’d rather spend it on something that promotes healthy behaviors than unhealthy stuff!

  9. Awe, I ran the Pittsburgh half marathon too! I must have done it a year later, because mine is green. But it’s also my favorite race shirt! I call it my sexy running shirt.

Share your thoughts!

