I’m a Winner & I Love It: DietBet Recap

In March, I started my first DietBet with FitFluential. I was drawn to the idea of being held accountable with the threat of losing money that could have paid for a manicure, a month’s worth of Starbucks sugar-free vanilla soy lattes (I really only get them on weekends, and even then not every day), or a new Lululemon headband. I was also really afraid of not winning. I’ve struggled for years to lose the last 10-20 pounds that would make me healthier and just feel better, and had lost and regained the same 5-8 at least 3 times in the last year alone.

For me, 4% was 5.6 pounds. That’s not a lot of weight; most of us use more weight than that in a workout. When it’s 4% of your body weight, however, its more than it seems. I made a plan that included continuing my self-challenge to do yoga every day in March (I made it 27 of 31 days), continuing my half-marathon training, and really focusing on what I was eating. Over the last few years I’ve made a concerted effort to eat healthier, and 80% of the time I am spot on, but about a year ago I started Weight Watchers Online and while I’d lost about 5 pounds in the first few months, I’d been unable to drop any more than that. I had a sneaking suspicion it was because of the points. With fruit and veggies as free, I are them liberally, and I knew they have calories, so in reality, they can’t be free.

I made the decision to go back to normal food tracking. I’d always used FatSecret’s Calorie Counter, so I went back to it. Within days I saw a huge difference, even though it was mostly water weight. By the end of the first week, I was down more than 3 pounds. But I hovered there for over a week, and started to freak out. I looked back at my calories vs workouts and realized I should have definitely been losing, so I adjusted again. I made a focused effort to make sure I left several hours between eating and going to bed, and again it worked. The scale kept going down, and I just needed to maintain.

My workouts had increased quite a bit, so I increased my calorie allowance each day slightly, and made it down past my goal with a few days to spare. I was ecstatic. I knew I’d not only lost weight but my body was changing. When I looked at my weigh-in vs. weigh-out pictures, I realized how visible it is.

20130412-195749.jpg

My experience was beyond simply the weight loss. Clothes I’d worn comfortably are now too big to be worn, and I’ve started wearing things that accentuate me, rather than just fit me. I have become comfortable with my body again. I know I’ll never have skinny legs and thighs, but that’s okay, because they allow me to run half-marathons. As much as I’d like to believe it, I’ll never be any taller than I am, but that’s why God created high heels, and J Crew made ankle length pants.

I had planned to wait until after the Country Music Half-Marathon to do another one, but as soon as my winning tweet went up, Krista over at Read.Bake.Run.Repeat invited me to join one with her, Solana from Beast Mode on the Run, Cori from Read.Write.Run.Mom. I was hesitant, but when they all said they have at least one race during the game, I was on board. So I’m doing it again. I’ll weigh in tomorrow morning, I will be disappointed for inevitably gaining some back after some bad decisions while traveling this week, but I will keep going until I reach my end goal!

Have you ever done a DietBet? What did you think?

Do you want to join ours? Game starts Sunday!

How do you measure success with your body?

One thought on “I’m a Winner & I Love It: DietBet Recap

Share your thoughts!

