My 5 year breathe-aversary

I’m a sickly person. Seriously, I’m allergic to everything living, I’m an asthmatic, and my body refuses to tolerate cow dairy. In the third grade I had strep throat 13 times, they tested me for everything, and determined, I’m just a sickly person.

5 years ago, I was in my first year of Grad school, and upon returning from history’s tamest long weekend in Vegas, I started to feel like I was coming down with something. While I hate being sick, this was badly timed: I was leaving for San Fran and Napa on my first trip with my boyfriend the next day.

Over the course of the next week, I got progressively more ill, and ended up on antibiotics when I got back to Pittsburgh, a few days later, I was only getting worse, so they put me on steroids. Fast forward a few more days, and I could barely get out of bed without getting so winded that I needed a nap. When I went back to the doctor again, they sent me immediately to the hospital, where within an hour I was admitted, hooked up to breathing treatments and IV steroids.

The bottom half of my lungs had stopped moving air completely. I spent 4 nights in the hospital before they finally let me leave. At the time, I literally lived across the street from the hospital, at most 200 yards door to door, and yet I couldn’t walk that far. It took me weeks to get back to normal (months for my voice to one back to normal), and it was more than 6 months before I was back to my normal workouts.

20130403-230320.jpg

A year later I completed my first half-marathon (still my PR) and I vowed I would never let myself back to that point again. At the time I had a few extra pounds on my small frame, but wasn’t focused on my overall health. I wasn’t sleeping like I should, definitely wasn’t focused on eating healthy to support my immune system, and wasn’t as active as necessary.

I’ve gone through fits and starts of being focused on my health & well-being over the last 5 years. I’ve completed 4 half-marathons, but have a tendency to stop running for months after I finish one. My life has changed dramatically over the last 4 months, and I finally realized in every attempt to be healthy and stay on track with being active and fit, I’ve always forgotten the most important thing: happiness. So this time around, that’s a big part of what I focus on every day. Bringing health, happiness, and well-being together makes me, a better me. And hopefully a little less sickly.

20130403-232135.jpg

What drove a positive change in your life? And what keeps you going?

2 thoughts on “My 5 year breathe-aversary

  1. Wow, good for you for taking control of your happiness, honestly, it sounds so simple (I mean who doesn’t want to be happy??), but it’s often not something we make a priority!

    I was motivated to make some positive changes in my life after meeting a friend that was battling leukemia, her spirit and enthusiasm for life even as she was dying made me realize that I needed to take advantage of some opportunities in my own life and challenge myself to some new things.

    • What an inspiring reason to start running! It is amazing how much, or little, can inspire us to take ourselves to new heights and take on new challenges.

      And I love having people who share the passion to recognize and go after those opportunities, so thank you for reading and sharing!

Share your thoughts!

