Lose weight? You bet

For years I’ve tried diet after diet, and workout plan after workout plan to lose the last 10-15 lbs for good. Something always seems to get in the way: work, vacations, weekend foodie excursions with my ex. Over the last few months I’ve been really focused on me: my goals, my plans, and what is really important to me. I’ve learned that I don’t just want to lose weight, it’s about being and feeling healthy & happy with myself. There is nothing that makes me feel better than a greet workout or yoga session. I feel strong and beautiful, and worth everything I’ve invested in myself. It prompts me to want to invest even more in making sure I’m not just professionally successful, but that I’m happy and truly healthy.

20130310-200300.jpg
Image from namalam.tumblr.com

I’ve read about the power of monetary incentives to change behavior for years, and more recently about how cities and companies around the country are getting their employees to lose weight by offering cash, gift cards, gym memberships, or just discounts on their health insurance. And today, I started my own monetary incentive plan, a bet using social media to encourage healthy habits and weight loss.

Starting this blog and getting really active on Twitter (@RunStretchGo) have helped me think through all the things that have been holding me back. One of those things has been true accountability, so thanks to FitFluential (@FitFluential) starting March 12th, I’m joining my first DietBet (@DietBet). I weighed in this morning and sent my “before” picture in, but wasn’t going to share it elsewhere. But this evening it hit me: that’s why you keep sliding back, you do the good and the bad behind a curtain, ensuring no one can hold you accountable or congratulate you. So here it goes:

20130310-201052.jpg

That one makes me look defeated, I’m a much bigger fan of this one, even if it doesn’t count for the challenge:

20130310-201413.jpg

So here’s to improving my health, and my wealth!

Have you done a diet bet or “Biggest Loser” type challenge? Did it help you stay on track or was it short lived during the challenge?

One thought on “Lose weight? You bet

  1. Pingback: Weigh in Wednesday | Merk & Her Mastiff

Share your thoughts!

