Flexibility, two ways

No matter how well I plan out my life, inevitably something takes it off track. Yesterday, I had an epiphany:

Don’t let rigidity get in the way of reaching your goals

My planned 4 mile run was moved inside due to a very cold, hard rain. I hate treadmills with all of my being, but reminded myself getting my miles in was important. One of the reasons I hate treadmills is that my stride and how I carry myself is completely different. I hunch up close to the front of the treadmill, which inevitably causes me to carry my shoulders oddly. Just after I hit 2 miles, I got a massive spasm in my left shoulder, while my heart rate was up. Have you ever had this happen? If you’re like me, your immediate thought is “omg I’m having a heart attack”, and then you slow down and breathe. Clearly I was not having a heart attack but decided my body needed me to go stretch out.

Prior to my epiphany, I would have been so angry at myself for screwing up my plan, but instead re-jiggered my plan for the week. This morning I got jello legs and arms with a little Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown, and this evening I will get my full 4 miles logged.

Life isn’t about how well you can stick to a schedule or plan, it’s about how you react to what’s thrown at you.

20130226-070146.jpg

One thought on “Flexibility, two ways

  1. I used to be obsessed with planning. Nowadays I still plan but I have learnt to go with the flow and let go of the expectation of how life should be and how events should unfold. It is a lot less stressful and sometimes things turn up to be even better than you expected 🙂 thank you for sharing, lovely post!

Share your thoughts!

