Making a commitment

I have a bit of an obsessive personality, so when I take something on I go at it really hard for a period of time, then move on to something else.

20130224-101220.jpg

Example: I got really into Bikram Yoga about 2 years ago. I fell in love with the repetition, the fact that it was a consistent sweat-fest, and the community of regulars that attended. After a few weeks they advertised their 30 day spring challenge, which I quickly signed up to complete. I was the first to complete it, and although I was outrageously sore from several double days in a row, I had done it. My body was leaner, I was stronger and more flexible, and I’d never eaten more healthy. I have never done Bikram since. Not that I don’t want to, I’ve just moved on to other things.

I’ve also struggled with being slightly overweight my entire life. And now that I’m solidly in my 30’s, newly single after 5 years, and in the middle of a major career move, I’ve decided it’s time to take charge of what I’m doing to my body.

This week my goal is to set my workout schedule and stick to it. Not just say I’ll work out each morning, but actually lay out the workouts I will complete. So here it goes:

Monday: 4 mile run, goal: 12 min/mile
Tuesday: Nike Training Club – Get Lean: Up the Pace, goal: no skipping any circuits
Wednesday: 4 mile run, goal: 11:45 min/mile
Thursday: Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown, goal: no stopping
Friday: Morning Yoga at Home from Women’s Health
Saturday: 7 miles, goal: 12 min/mile
Sunday: Magic City Asana at Lululemon at the Summit

How do you ensure you’re sticking to your workout plans?

Share your thoughts!

